We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Burgers and more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers

Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers
Ranked #58 of 690 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers in Berkeley is a classic burger joint. Beware of a overly large menu that produces overly large portions from the kitchen. Plan on splitting an order of fries if you want to possibly finish your burger. The menu also has chicken and fish if beef is not for you. And the salads are generous with lots of options. There is indoor seating with a fireplace and outdoor deck seating perfect for a sunny day. Bring a big appetite!
Also, parking is a problem and check the signs for what day of the week the street cleaning takes place to avoid making it a very pricey lunch hour!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kime465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thick, juicy, flavorful, cooked just the way we ordered them. Toppings were plentiful. Husband had the "maui waui", I had the "sunshine" - both were delicious. Also had their homemade chicken rice soup, great on a chilly day. Nice ambiance with fireplace. We will be back again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie-n-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“terrific burgers and salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an appealing, clean, upbeat place where you can find food as decadent (think - juicy burgers, milkshakes, four or five kinds of fries) or as healthy (fresh, generously-sized salads) as you'd like. There's enormous variety on the menu -- literally dozens of burgers and probably ten kinds of salads with chicken. And there are superb vegetarian options (their garden burgers are tasty, with visible vegetables). Service is good and the folks in the kitchen really know what they're doing. Always delicious and fresh, always a treat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers for meat eaters and vegetarians alike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a vegetarian, I've enjoyed the portobello mushroom burger at Barney's. The meat eaters I've dined with have enjoyed their food too. The fries are delicious. Unfortunately, they don't come with the burger (as they do in some other local burger places), so it can get a tad pricey (not too bad though). They also offer salads and falafel, though I haven't had either yet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Burger.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's a celebration for me as I got my citizenship. We headed to Barney's in Berkeley and for the second time around everything was perfect. Excellent ambiance, welcoming waitress, clean sorrounding and most importantly food was superb and price didn't changed. I love their organic salad with garbanzo beans, vegetable tray and of course the burger. Since Halloween is coming they have their own decorations which my kids go crazy about counting some crawlies here and there. Well anyway, my family were really enjoyed the food and as i said, excellent food, excellent service. We will consider Barney's as a best burger in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchelyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers also viewed

 

Been to Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing