We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“HORRIBoLE SERVICE AND DIRTY PLACE!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Inn

Berkeley Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berkeley Inn
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBoLE SERVICE AND DIRTY PLACE!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The website somehow double booked us for this hotel and wen we got here he wanted to charge us a $80 fee to cancel!!!thats more than our stay!! Awful awful service. Rude beyond words. No respect for clients. This place might be cheaper than other places but ur getting treated horribly to stay here. DO NOT go here unless u want to be treated badly and deal with shady ppl.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmyle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    11
    4
    14
See reviews for
6
5
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Berkeley Inn was moderately priced and in a great location- right off the interstate & minutes away from the University and cheap places to eat. The management wasn't super friendly, but we didn't have to interact with them except for checking in and out. The sheets were clean and the place was overall sanitary, but the walls & carpet looked pretty dingy. Having a microwave and fridge in the room was really convenient.
The wifi was password protected and we were unable to get ahold of the office to receive the log in information, even though they advertised having free wifi in all the rooms.

Room Tip: They openly inform customers that the building isn't safe in the case of an earthquake, so it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mquinnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This place was terrible. The hotel clerk was RUDE not only to me and my friend, but even the customers in front of us. We spent at least 10 minutes arguing, before we reached an agreement. The hotel clerk was demanding, and he didn't understand our simple requests. I am willing to pay an extra $40-50 to spend a night somewhere else. I highly recommend staying somewhere else. Also, there were foreign stains on the bed sheets.

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastes711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Stockton, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Filthy, The Earthquake warning signs scared me and my family members. Unfortunately we did not have funds for any other place and we had already paid for this dump. I DO NOT recommend this place unless you don't mind scummy curtains and unstable buildings. Stay Away!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFuknBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flekkefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Nice place to stay, run by an Indian family, good people.

Room Tip: Clean good room, mine was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jano10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room was relatively clean and quite. Good value for the cheapest available hotel that I found.

Room Tip: If you need Wifi - ask for a room next to the reception (first or second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoranHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

we couldn't sleep the whole night due to the noises coming from the room next to ours.
towels were not very clean, but the room per se was not so bad; maybe there should be more sound-isolation from other rooms.
positve aspects: it's very cheap and there is free wifi.
negative aspects: sleep quality (due to the noises) and cleanliness.

Room Tip: maybe our room was the noisiest room of the hotel; try to ask a quieter one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alcla417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Inn

Property: Berkeley Inn
Address: 1720 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1336
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Berkeley Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Berkeley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing