We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "Playground"”

Adventure Playground
Ranked #18 of 84 things to do in Berkeley
Attraction details
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent "Playground"”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My sister in law took us there and I didn't know what to expect. There were six girls in tow ranging from 8 to 15. They loved it. There is a small zip line, a mesh rope jungle gym thingy, lots of painting and creativity in building going on. Agree with the other reviewer - it was a bit unsettling to see the 5 year olds wielding hammers and saws, and if you are a helicopter parent this is not the place for you. I could not believe it was free! Apparently you can drop your kids off and pay $10 an hour for babysitting.

There is a typical playground right next to it, and a great view if the water.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 4_Travlin_Fools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kids love it but...”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place always made me a little nervous. Small children with tools… kids running around with sharp objects… But the kids love the experience. Not good for anxious safety-conscious helicopter parents.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MuffetMardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loads of unconventional fun!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our kids, then 8 and 6, had a fabulous time here. The fun is largely unscripted compared to what they experienced at traditional playgrounds, and the look of the place - unkempt and seemingly unplanned - added to their sense of adventure and independence. Highly recommended as an antidote to the sterile, controlling environments you're in at most playgrounds these days (where the heck did all the teeter-totters, swings and merry-go-rounds go?).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We visit this park whenever we visit family. My seven year old daughter loves that this place as it is very unusual and creative. Old boats, zip line, painting, etc. Watch your kid, but let her have fun.

Helpful?
2 Thank AnnElizabeth97123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“do-it-yourself fun by the Marina”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kids love this spot, but it might be a little frightening for their adult caretakers: lots of loose boards and nails, weathered materials, etc. But that's where the fun comes in for the kids: they get to hammer and build, play rough (with the materials, that is), and make things up for themselves. And they adore the little zip-line ride. If you're a parent who has a high level of tolerance for a little chaos, this may be for you. My son loved it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dorothea57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Playground also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing