We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best so far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mission Mexican Grill

La Mission Mexican Grill
Ranked #55 of 692 Restaurants in Berkeley
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the best so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is for the true travelers. Food here is good. Worth the wait and $. I ate there 2 days in a row. Day one al pastor + carnitias tacos. Both were great. Plenty of flavor and better than any I have found so far in the area. Today I had the carnitias plate and 2 al pastor tacos. The plate included grilled onions and a chile along with rice and beans. I like it better this way. I'm going try the chile relleno when I return next week. Like I said, I travel, and I'm form L.A. and good Mexican food is hard to come by. They are tops in the area so far.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SlammyLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazingly good place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

As we drove up, I thought we had to be in the wrong place. We walked up to the counter to order and I was overwhelmed with the choices. I ended up ordering two different types of burrittos. Both were amazing! It would have tasted better with an adult beverage, but I would definately go back and try something else. The lamb and churizo/potatoe burritto were both great. Even my 6 year old thought the food was great and she can be a bit challenging. I felt like I had found a true locals gem!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Some of the best Mexican food I've had in ages. Really friendly, excellent food, and a nice little patio/terrace... They were making the watermelon agua fresca as we came in and it was so, so good, make sure you try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican fare.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am quiet surprised there are no reviews for this place on TA. Well if you are ever hungry in Berkeley, you gotta check this place out.
We went here on a sunday morning for breakfast and liked all that we ordered. My husband had their breakfast chorizo and eggs which was served with potatoes and beans with tortilla. I tried their fish tacos and loved them!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mission Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to La Mission Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing