We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not great”
Review of Tacubaya

Tacubaya
Ranked #106 of 700 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay, not great”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Tacubaya benefits from being one of the few restaurants in the Fourth Street shopping area of Berkeley. However, the food is not that great. We just had dinner there today, and I actually had the blandest chile relleno I've ever tasted. There was truly no spice to it, which seems very, very strange. It can be very crowded and hard to find a table, but this place pales in comparison to Picante, several blocks away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
616 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Innovative, wonderful regional Mexican”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Mouth watering is the best way to describe Tacubaya. Great selection, fresh ingredients, and always wonderful. It's even nice to sit t he outside tables. The Breakfast menu always makes me wish I came earlier. We had lunch, tostadas , tacos and beautiful vegetarian tomales. I love this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very imaginative take on Mexican”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The entire menu is excellent with wonderful churros for dessert.

If you go late in the day, they may be out of the pork - but the vegan dishes are all excellent.

They have many interesting sides that are tempting - the potato poppas are great.

Maybe a little on the pricey side for Mexican but if your are around 4th Street, its consistently reliable and pretty quick service. There are many other excellent Mexican/Central American restaurants around Berkeley, but many aren't conveniently located and don't have the nice ambience of Tacubaya..

Tacubaya has sister restaurants that are also great - DonaTomas in Temescal and Flora in Uptown Oakland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newbie_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love, Love this Restaurant!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

When I am in Northern California I have to stop here and eat! You order your food at the counter and they bring it to you when it is ready. The tacos are so good! The chips and salsa are wonderful. The Churros........yum! (That's if you have room for them).
They are located in a cute shopping area on 4th street in Berkeley.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ziggy1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Munchin Luncheon”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

NW Berkeley 4th St is very natty chic, me being a traveler chose the area because a cheap hotel gave me many many blocks of great walking and pictures, but I needed help from the computer store across the street, so my lunch as up for grabs when I fell into this place. Noisy, menu on the wall, order pay get a little sign number and sit wherever, in or out. I chose the bar being alone and love watching the preparations, roasting pork, avocados going guacamole, endless amusements to keep my hand computer out of my eye. A guy was pressing corn balls into tortillas, what joy, and cooking them on a grill, 12 at a time, that's it. Nothing better. Well here is the roasting pork, and I had it all...pork, corn tortillas, and guacamole. And a little glass, no stem of white wine Argentina, perfect lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bapstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacubaya also viewed

 

Been to Tacubaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing