We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively and luscious - loved it!”

Trattoria La Siciliana
Ranked #38 of 710 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lively and luscious - loved it!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My son told me if anywhere is particularly good in Berkeley you will find queues of people clamouring to get in. He was bang on right about this place. Despite the queues they had an efficient system of letting you know your table was ready and the staff team were super friendly. We shared Frito miso and fresh mozzarella salad to start, followed by a delightful seafood linguine and a second pasta with juicy tasty meatballs for main. Managed to find enough room for a divine chocolate fondant to end the evening. Also had a great wine selection and the oil served with bread makes my mouth water even thinking about it a week later!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Minty2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expect to be underwhelmed”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Little disappointed with this restaurant after the hype.The food was distinctly average and the the our waiter couldnt be less interested counting his tips and texting.We dine well and dont mind paying for good food and drink but $30 for the cheapest bottle of wine.We got a glass that couldnt have been more than 150ml for $8 it was an insult to paying customers and no pizza's or garlic bread...Italian...Really.
1 single saving grace...a coloured guy at the door welcomed us and gave us the best table possible.Checked in on us and wiped down our table when messy also managed to say goodbye when our waiter was too busy checking how much tip he had got from us.
Basic steps of service needed and alittle more attention to detail.
Good luck

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Been Disappointed”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Yes, there's a line, but go inside for a drink and stand next to the chef who is busy creating magnificent dishes amid the flames. We rarely order from the menu, we just ask for the chef to make us what he thinks we'll like (with a little guidance). Do get the Porcini ravioli. Food is served family style and make sure you have CASH when the bill comes. The homemade lemon grappa(?) is a wonderful way to end the meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A very nice Italian restaurant with great food and wine selections! - POPULAR thus CROWDED and CASH ONLY!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A very nice Italian restaurant with great food and wine selections!
- POPULAR thus CROWDED and CASH ONLY!

MORE DETAILS:

Its tasty dishes and good service make this cozy restaurant almost always crowded.
- On one Fri evening, even we had dinner reservation, we still had to wait 20min to get our table. Our dinner proved to be worth the long wait, however.

Four of us had their popular pre fixe family style dinners for $30pp, a bottle of wine, $35, and a desert to share. The 3 course dinner was delicious and sufficient in quantity. The service was good and pleasant, considering the restaurant was filled to capacity. 

Actually this was our encore visit of this restaurant. Some 8 months ago, our local friends had already taken us there for a treat. we really enjoyed their tasty linguinis with mixed seafoods, linguini with calamari in black ink, steamed prawns, and skewer of beef. That great dinner experience was what brought us back there this time. And we will be there again next time we visit Berkeley.

- Although this cozy restaurant has an extra, small upper level, the dining space is still quite limited; tables are too close to each other with little elbow room for truly comfortable dining.

Overall, it's an excellent restaurant. Do make reservations and go early! Oh yes, don't forget to bring CASH! You'll love it!

Peterskis, Aug 2012
---

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterskis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, CA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Am I in Letojanni?”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Forget that you have to get there at 5 pm or risk standing in line forever. Forget that on street parking is almost non-existent. Forget that it is Berkeley, which is so one-track mindedly liberal that it ends up being ultra-conservative. Forget everything else while you decide whether to quench your thirst with Nero D'Avola or Etna Rosso while you order up some of the day's fresh shellfish 'fra diavole' and admire the various depictions of Trinicara that hang on the walls. This place is so Sicilian that, if you walked outside and saw the Mediterranean, you'd swear you were in Letojanni.

If I had to fault this eatery on anything, it would be the 'family recipe' meatballs, which are made with beef and NO pork (definitely not Sicilian, though tasty anyway).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Siciliana also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria La Siciliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing