We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ - Yum! Super Friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everett & Jones Barbecue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Everett & Jones Barbecue
Ranked #182 of 692 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best BBQ - Yum! Super Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

After a busy Memorial Day, we decided to treat ourselves to real BBQ. We've been buying Everett & Jones BBQ sauce at the grocery store so we thought it was time to chow down on the meat. One of us had the beef brisket, the other ribs. Slathered in sauce a fall-off-the-bone tender. Contrary to other postings, the potato salad was better than most restaurants offer.
We waited in line for maybe 40 or 45 minutes as the place was packed! It didn't seem like a long time because everyone was so friendly and they happened to be giving away a bottle of BBQ sauce to each group of customers who came in. (Sauce comes in mild, medium, or hot. We got the mild but can do medium. Hot is really hot.) Besides, you can read all of the signs and stickers all over the walls while you are waiting.
Atmosphere - Friendly, warm, neighborhood feel in a tiny, cramped space bursting at the seams with good food and good vibes.
Inside seats are non-existent but there are some picnic tables outside.
Go on, sit with someone you don't know. You'll meet some great folks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank judeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geyserville, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“E & J! This places knows what's up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hands down my favorite BBQ spot in California! I've had the chicken and ribs. Tried my friends brisket. All was BOMB! The side dish is your basic potato salad that could be better and drink selections consist of cans of soda. They do have sunkist orange tho, lol! I'm not a fan but some of my friends didn't hesitate to drink up and were extremely satisfied. Mild, medium, and Hot are your spice choices. My wifey gets hot and is always sweating but she swears she loves it! I just go for the mild and feel like that is spicy enough. You're going to have to decide for yourself! But please go here and try. All meals come with a few slices of cheap wheat bread in a plastic bag. Go check em out over there at Everett and Jones. It is definitely an experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMeliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great BBQ first time we had been there and didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised that the food was that good. Although they were out of coleslaw, we tried the potato salad, stick with the beans of slaw they seemed to be better. Music was kinda loud which made it hard to hear the person to hear your order. The medium sauce was spicy so if your not into spicy stick with the mild. I ordered a side of HOT BBQ sauce and as I love spicy it was great. Would have been nice to had a bigger place to eat inside so we took ours back to the apartment to eat it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BBQ At Its Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Everett and Jones numerous times and have always been extremely pleased with the food and service. Every main meat and side is just the way it is supposed to be. Their sauces are awesome and the homemade lemonade is incredible. You will never be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markhargis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicous to the last lick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friends recommended this place and now we know why....the bbq is fantastic. They say it's all in the sauce....well, whatever it is...it is worth going here for some bbq fresh out of a brick oven....expect to wait in line, but you won't have to wait long because the service is fast....they also have take out. We saw people bring their own containers...what does that tell you?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TGlobalFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everett & Jones Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Everett & Jones Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing