We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Beautiful View!”
Review of Skates on The Bay

Skates on The Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Skates on The Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 707 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: University Ave.
Transit: The AC Transit, #9
Description: Skates on the Bay is known for their fresh market ingredients, innovative menu, and spectacular views of the bay, Golden Gate Bridge, the Bay Bridge, and San Francisco. This beautiful and historic waterfront gathering place for fresh seafood and unmatched views of the San Francisco Bay, recently completed (April, 2012) a major interior design renovation, including the addition of a new raw bar, glass-walled private dining room and innovative menus. Originally opened in 1983 in the Berkeley Marina, the reimagined Skates on the Bay is a stunning restaurant to enjoy cocktails at sunset, late night Happy Hour, weekday lunch, weekend lunch or brunch with the family or dinner with a date any time of year.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful View!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was relaxing, beautiful marina view - SF golden gate bridge, bay bridge to…
Wine list comes with 3.5oz to 6 oz glass… so for those who just want to have a small sip with lunch can do so!

Great menu - had Salad Louie - good size Shrimp, crab meat… altered 1000 island dressing with home made balsamic olive oil dressing… Service was great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munki888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    250
    90
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Year Eve's dinner!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Skates on the Bay's brought romantic memories to me since this was one of my husband and me first romantic dinner! And two other times we celebrate with friends, one for New Year Eve's dinner, and besides enjoying the Spirit of the Holidays with the decor and the very busy place, we enjoyed of a very good dinner!
Since we had a party of 10, we called ahead of time, so our waiting time for a table was pretty reasonable, taking on count that they were dealing with a lot of customers for the night!
My Salmon had a very exquisite presentation and it was so tasteful! All of our friends were happy with their plates!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEZC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recommended for Aussie Visitors”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

In Australia we have a lot of restaurants that overlook beaches, harbours, bays, marinas, rivers etc. It seems that good relaxed dining with a water view is a part of the Australian Psyche. San Francisco has its share of the same. Skates is one of my favourites. If you find yourself in the East Bay then try to navigate your way to Skates, drive your car, there is plenty of free parking. It sits on a pier on the shore of the East Bay and the views across the bay to the city skyline, Alcatraz, the Bay and Golden Gate bridges are spectacular. The food is good without being spectacular but I am prepared to compromise for the ambience of the place. Book a window seat for dinner and watch the sun go down behind the skyline as the "Skate" sailing boats return from an afternoon turn around the bay. Enjoy a nice Napa white wine with your seafood meal but don't drink more than one glass if you are driving.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeBeanThere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Skates on The Bay, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
MeBeanThere2,

Thank you for the thorough and thoughtful review. We appreciate the kind words and guest tips.

Cheers - The Skates Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Tip for all the Skates patrons: Get a seat in the bar area. Yes, there aren't the fine linens and you don't get as much attention from the wait staff. But, as a bonus you don't have to wait for a table, there is an amazing view, and a toasty fireplace. Plus you can order off the full menu. We all ended up getting the house-made fettuccine with various seafood (salmon, clams, mussels). The noodles were fresh and the sauce tasty, but I wish there were more clams in mine. Nice stop for our family on a drive back from the Coast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SacValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Skates on The Bay, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
SacValleyGirl,

Thanks so much for the great review and feedback. We appreciate the guest tips as well!

Cheers - The Skate's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW, BUT POOR FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The views of the San Francisco Bay are terrific; however, the food preparation, quality and service were poor.
1. Our raw oysters arrived about 50 minutes after they were ordered because the "shucker was backed up;"
2. Our soup was served at room temperature;
3. Our entree order was not entered into the system until about an hour after we were seated according to our food server;
4. All of the vegetables/starches were served at room temperature;
5. The sea bass smelled/tasted spoiled and was returned;
6. Our initial food server was arrogant when we surfaced our concerns, but the Chef apologized for his kitchen's serious problems.
GOOD NEWS: the view and the Chef's candor. BAD NEWS: Everything else about our long dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skates on The Bay also viewed

 

Been to Skates on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing