We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view and good food”
Review of Skates on The Bay

Skates on The Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Skates on The Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 719 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: University Ave.
Transit: The AC Transit, #9
Description: Skates on the Bay is known for their fresh market ingredients, innovative menu, and spectacular views of the bay, Golden Gate Bridge, the Bay Bridge, and San Francisco. This beautiful and historic waterfront gathering place for fresh seafood and unmatched views of the San Francisco Bay, recently completed (April, 2012) a major interior design renovation, including the addition of a new raw bar, glass-walled private dining room and innovative menus. Originally opened in 1983 in the Berkeley Marina, the reimagined Skates on the Bay is a stunning restaurant to enjoy cocktails at sunset, late night Happy Hour, weekday lunch, weekend lunch or brunch with the family or dinner with a date any time of year.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My fiancee and I were celebrating our engagement and decided to eat here because it was close to the Doubletree Marina. I had the crab stuffed prawns and she had the stuffed pork chop. Both were very good and we had the "chop chop" salad, also very good. One recommendation would be to take the shell off the shrimp before cooking since it was difficult to remove at the table. It would be ok to leave the tail piece. The view of the bay and the bridges was great. Very romantic. Service was very good and attentive. Would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Skates on The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Chip144,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide your feedback. We appreciate it. Thanks also for the recommendation!

Cheers - Skates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 461 of 626 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful evening. Food, service and food were all outstanding. Would go again next time I'm in the bay area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemarie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Skates on The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Rosemarie T,

Thanks so much for the great review and kind words. We look forward to serving you next time you are in town!

Cheers - The Skates' Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Delightfully situated on the bay, nearly floor to ceiling windows make this the perfect place for just about any occasion. Service is courteous and prompt. Food is delightful and reasonably priced.
Great location for a walk on the pier after your meal.

Thank MLM-Madam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Skates on The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

MLM-Madam,

Thanks so much for the great review!

Cheers - The Skates' Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staying in The City, we traveled over the new Bay Bridge span to the Berkeley Marina where natives like me know it's one of the best views. Perched literally over the water, Skates serves up amazing local fare with a 70's vibe. Even the clientele spans generations. Great bread, fun cocktails (ask about the latest) amazing clam chowder, and an open face crab sandwich to die for. We had wonderful service but it was lunchtime on a weekday. Fabulous watching the boats pull out into the bay from the Marina.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbie892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Skates on The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Barbie892,

Thank you for the great review and feedback!

Cheers - The Skate's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The food and service were both excellent, but the view of the bay was spectacular! Make sure you request a table by the window with a bay view. A very enjoyable evening that I highly recommend.

Thank susantnqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Skates on The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

susantnqueen,

Thanks so much for the great review and recommendation. We appreciate it!

Cheers - The Skate's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skates on The Bay also viewed

 

Been to Skates on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing