We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're not in a hurry, this place serves up some fabulous breakfast fare!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Note

La Note
Reserve with OpenTable
La Note is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 695 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Durant Ave
Transit: Downtown Berkeley Bart station 4 blocks away
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you're not in a hurry, this place serves up some fabulous breakfast fare!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Had breakfast here one day before our trek in the city, and were quite surprised at the selection. I ordered the lemon gingerbread pancakes, which came with 2eggs and their rosemary garlic homestyle potatoes. It was a lot of food, but very delicious! The pancakes came with poached pears and blueberries, and were simply divine!! It was a bit crowded and tight quarters with the close tables, but I would love to visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreativeRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    84
    26
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great breakfast on a Monday morning. Everything was extremely fresh and tasty including the coffee and hot chocolate. The brioche pain perdu with the berry coulis was outstanding. Everybody was extremely warm and gracious. All in all a wonderful meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WitzinCville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Busy for a very good reason!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've been twice, once for the acclaimed breakfast and the second for a casual and comfortable dinner. The breakfast was fine, 3 of the 4 breakfasts ordered were wonderful, poached eggs perfectly prepared, the one disappointment were the lemon gingerbread pancakes, not very lemony and just a little too grainy for my personal taste. Dinner, however, was a smash hit! We shared and enjoyed the the appetizer, Crostone au Saumon, delicately smoked salmon on 4 toast points spread with goat cheese, followed by the Salad Nicoise, thankfully taking the advice of our server to order the "small", for the portion was substantial enough to serve 2. Our mains were the Steak frites and the Bouillabaisse, both were wonderful. The flat iron steak was tender, delicious and a perfect, and I mean PERFECT medium rare. Requested roasted tomatoes instead of the frites. The bouillabaisse was a delicate saffron broth, ( I would have preferred a little stronger addition of saffron) but loaded with so many clams, mussels, large shrimp,scallops and a chuck of sea bass along with a healthy 3 leg section and body portion of crab that I would and will order this dish again. The portions on every plate were generous and the service attentive. The atmosphere is of a casual neighborhood gem in Provence, only located in Berkeley. It was a wonderful experience and meal

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fan0fdining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Trendy and Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

La Note is great if you like trendy. Everything about it literally SCREAMS "welcome to California"! It's overcrowded, and getting acknowledged even when you're up next is a task. Service is a bit better at the table. However, because it's so crowded, the wait staff gives the impression that they're in a hurry and can't really be bothered to answer all your questions. Ours literally threw our order on the table along with a basket full of stale bread, before she was off to deliver/pick up the next order. The menu is just a bit pretentious. Call them "les oeufs" if you want, they're still eggs! And they're mediocre. I've no idea why people are flocking to this place. I've had better food in a dinner, and it was 1/3 the price! I know this is California, but $12 for eggs! Oh, but they're "free range"! Welcome to California!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Delicious food, specially the pancakes, the fruit coulis and the different kinds of bread. Very friendly staff.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DanielleForny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Note also viewed

 

Been to La Note? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing