We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy basic Mexican food where everyone eats”
Review of Picante

Picante
Ranked #32 of 709 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noisy basic Mexican food where everyone eats”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The soccer teams hold awards dinners here, big, basic, noisy. Large burritos. Pretty good value but skip the guacamole.$6.50 for 1 1/2 Tbsp of guacamole and small bag tortilla strips.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    54
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
1,368 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Lunch”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After shopping at the nearby North Face Outlet, a couple of employees recommended this place. I'm glad they did. Whether you dine in or carry out, order your meal at the counter. If you dine in they will give you a buzzer and you seat yourself. The food quickly finds you. It all seemed fresh made and yummy. The employees were super nice and helpful. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality, Consistency and YUM!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I could probably eat Mexican food every day of the week...especially great Mexican food! Over the last 10 years, I've tried other 'new' places, gourmet Mexican, and taquerias...nothing compares to the overall quality, flavors, service and consistency here.

Yes, the line can be daunting, but it moves quickly and is worth the wait. Fresh, local and sustainable is what they claim...and I agree! Picante is even environmentally friendly...saving water where they can, non-GMO corn, and hormone free meats.

Picante has a system...all the servers wear earpieces, the food comes out of the spotless kitchen in minutes, colors, flavors, heat...everything just right. It isn't particular overly inventive food...but each dish is perfectly prepared. They offer 'to-go' food where you can drive up, and they bring it out to you. Hot and fresh. Parking could be an issue, but they now have two parking lots, garbage cans in the lots. They are conscious of the neighbors, guests, and employees it seems.
AND, I'd rate their margaritas as the best in the area.
If I were to open a restaurant, I'd pattern it after this one...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WineDineDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Positively Picante”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

From the street, this establishment is unassuming, however, once inside the vibe ramps up rather nicely.The line to order can sometimes be long but the wait is worth it as the food is excellent. A menu with plenty of options, you order then wait for your food to be brought to your table, 3 types of salsa are available on a complimentary basis, however, it appears the chips must be ordered at the time you order your meal. An extensive bar menu provides just the right beverage to compliment an entree or appetizer, and the service is vey good with only a short wait from ordering to eating. When in town, I will return to Picante. BTW, the chilcken mole enchiladas are outstanding!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Family Friendly Restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We've been living in Berkeley since September, and Picante has been our favorite Friday night dinner spot. We love the very tasty meals, great service, and relaxed environment. Part of the experience is that it feels like family dining--parents, kids, and extended families relaxing over great food in a laid back and festive atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante also viewed

 

Been to Picante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing