We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite food always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picante

Picante
Ranked #41 of 692 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My favorite food always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fresh corn tacos. Tostada salads to die for. Orchata like it is supposed to be. Everything is first rate.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hatchje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    52
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good food, casual dining, busy restaurant that can handle a crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I wanted Mexican and didn't know any good places in Berkeley so I consulted Trip Advisor and we found this place.

We waited in line about 15 minutes for our turn to order at the counter. The cashier was very friendly and helpful. My wife was worried that a dish might be too spicey for her so the cashier let her have a sample before ordering (it was too spicey and she ordered something else.) Once we placed our order our party of four had no trouble finding a table despite the place seeming to be very busy.

The food was very good and served quickly.

The atmosphere is not at all fancy. It is about the same as eating at a diner.

Prices are reasonable though not really cheap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank schota1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

You stand in line and order your food, they bring it to your table. Service are friendly and fast. Helpings are large, but chips are not included, which is odd to me. Food was bland. Not sure what the hype is here. Parking is convenient. Room is loud and crowded.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Food is absolutely delicious. Portions are big, but not overwhelming. Service is friendly and very well organized. One of my favorite places.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tarotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

When visiting family in Berkeley Picante is our go-to lunch place before heading to the airport for our trip home. It's a family friendly spot with great outdoor seating, a convenient location. The food is delicious with reliably fast service. These folks really know how to run a spot like this!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante also viewed

 

Been to Picante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing