We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently special sushi in Berkeley”
Review of Kirala

Kirala
Ranked #19 of 702 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently special sushi in Berkeley”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We used to live in the area. This was our first visit back in 10 years, and Kirala is still tops. We sat at the sushi bar and enjoyed great service. Nice range of selections, super fresh and flavorful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CmBm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    34
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Japanese food perfection”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Be sure to try items from the Robata grill or the sushi. If you don't get there when they open, be prepared for a wait (if before 7:30, go to Berkeley Bowl and get some shopping done!)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoTravelNowCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosenza, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Kirala is a reference for japanese cuisine in the San Francisco Bay area. As we're fond of japanese cuisine, we wanted to give it a try, with serious expectations. For a tuesday evening, the place was pretty full, and we had to wait a bit to be seated. Full menu is servd at the tables, but you can have sushi and the main appetizers sitting at the bar, in front of the sushi chef. After waiting for 15 mins at the inner bar, where sake samples and cocktails can be tasted with some edamame, we got a bar place, and we got the full menu choice too. Good start. The menu is pretty rich, and sushi is only part of the story. Robata grill menu makes the choice hard, and eventually we went for robata black cod (delicious) and tuna tartare (very good, too). Then, we opted for sushi and sashimi rather than grilled fish or meat. The sushi was prepared with a great deal of expertise. The fish quality is outstanding, and the make up is delicious and beautiful. We had the Deluxe sushi and sashimi, and frankly, I don't remember having fish of such good quality before out of Japan. Excellent. The tuna was filled with hyper-fine texture of fat, yellowfin had the perfect lemon background, and the grilled eel was supreme. The chef offered us two extra eel nigiris, probably because he saw our delighted faces while we were eating the first piece.
All in all, excellent japanese food, nice ambience, and the bill (about 80$ for two) wasn't too bad for the quality and quantity we got.
Definitely not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucasorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
180 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good but not worth the wait”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

To wait outside for them to open for 20 minutes is not something I will be doing a second time. While the food was fine, I really can't understand why everyone seems to get so excited about it. Very acceptable but not outstanding Japanese food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi Restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an outstanding sushi restaurant, the only thing that is bad is that you can't make reservations. So the wait can be 30 minutes or more at times. Take the time and go here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregorymayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirala also viewed

 

Been to Kirala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing