We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite places”
Review of Rick & Ann's

Rick & Ann's
Ranked #7 of 707 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers simple, comforting foods with universal appeal. We are conscientious of the ingredients we us and the diversity of our patrons, so we can accommodate a variety of diet restrictions. We love using organic and local produce. We truly are a Berkeley business. Whether it’s our cornmeal pancakes or gingerbread waffles for breakfast, our grilled flank steak sandwich or our turkey burger for lunch, or our pan-seared red snapper or our chicken pot pie for dinner, we have something to please everyone! If you have a special event in your future, please check out Ann’s Catering menu on our website. We also feature local artists’ work in the restaurant that is available for purchase.Oakland Magazine named us the Best Breakfast in the Bay Area!
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The husband and I come here regularly, and there are times when we visit Rick & Ann's twice on a weekend (no, we are not ashamed). Originally, we would visit for dinner only, but we now come for breakfast ask well. Just about everything is great, but our particular favourites are the meatloaf, chicken pot pie and anything to do with pasta (oh, and their french fries! Best ever!). We always have the brownie ice cream sandwich if they have it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for supporting us on both Yelp and TA, Megan! Comments like these are what make us love our job. It's wonderful to hear you enjoy both our breakfast and dinner. Hope to see you and your husband back here soon. Our brownie ice cream is waiting for you!

Cheers,
Rick & Ann, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    98
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cafe”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Located at the base of the hill where the Claremont Hotel sits. A small place but it also has outdoor seating. There was a long wait but a nice menu selection.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for this great feedback, Denise! We're glad you're a fan of our classy comfort food. Next time you're back in Berkeley, we hope you'll stop by!

Cheers,
Rick & Ann, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good brunches...sometimes long waits”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good food and atmosphere and service. The wait sometimes makes it a bit tough as there isn't that much interesting around the area as we wait.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phantphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for letting us know how we're doing. We're so glad you're a fan of our brunch menu! That being said, we'd never want to keep you waiting long. We'll definitely take your feedback into consideration moving forward and hope to see you back here soon!

Happy holidays,
Rick & Ann, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Ive always loved this place for a good casual place with great homemade type cooking that is very flavorful. It's casual, cozy and friendly. Parking is generally easy too. Rick and Ann's never lets me down.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
It's wonderful to hear back from a longtime customer! Thank you for the kinds words. We're so glad you're a fan of our casual and cozy atmosphere. Next time you need a good meal, we'd love to feed you!

Cheers,
Rick & Ann, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breakfast Heaven”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Fresh food, local ingredients - and an inventive menu. Especially enjoyed the "Down South" with cornmeal pancakes, turkey sausage and eggs w/ cheese. Friendly, fairly priced and a lovely spot for a weekend breakfast or brunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed our breakfast, Jim. I appreciate you mentioning our fresh and local ingredients — that's something we take great pride in! Next time you're craving our pancakes, our door is always open.

All the best,
Rick & Ann, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick & Ann's also viewed

 

Been to Rick & Ann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing