We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick lunch -- Delish!”
Review of Rick & Ann's

Rick & Ann's
Ranked #11 of 717 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers simple, comforting foods with universal appeal. We are conscientious of the ingredients we us and the diversity of our patrons, so we can accommodate a variety of diet restrictions. We love using organic and local produce. We truly are a Berkeley business. Whether it’s our cornmeal pancakes or gingerbread waffles for breakfast, our grilled flank steak sandwich or our turkey burger for lunch, or our pan-seared red snapper or our chicken pot pie for dinner, we have something to please everyone! If you have a special event in your future, please check out Ann’s Catering menu on our website. We also feature local artists’ work in the restaurant that is available for purchase.Oakland Magazine named us the Best Breakfast in the Bay Area!
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived shortly after noon from out of town and wanted a quick meal before a medical appointment. The hostess seated us immediately, and within minutes the server was at our table taking our drink order and answering questions about the menu. We ordered; I had the half portobello mushroom sandwich and a cup of soup and my husband ordered the vegetarian chili with added fries. The kitchen was fast and everything was delicious. My only complaint, and it's really more of a irritant was that the server asked the table immediately next to us. "Are you still working on it?" It's so easy to inquire if a diner is "finished." "Working on it" implies, I don't know what, but it's a turn-off, for sure. She didn't ask us that question, because our plates were empty--everything was so good. We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bikerchick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for writing this great review. We appreciate you taking the time to address how our staff was so fast and accommodating. It is wonderful you thought your portobello sandwich and soup was delicious and your husband loved his vegetarian chili! As far as your complaint is concerned, we completely understand how that phrase could be a little off-putting. In fact, we will address this type of phrasing in our next staff meeting. You are right — it is a small irritant, but if this is the reason we are receiving 4 stars instead of 5, then this needs to be looked into.

We look forward to having you and your husband dine with us again soon!

Cheers,
Rick & Ann, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 265 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice service for Sunday brunch, but it is crowded, so be prepared to wait. I had the red flannel hash and fried eggs and it was delish! Servers very friendly and accepting of my toddler granddaughter. Great family place!

Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. We want all our guests to feel welcomed here, so we were more than happy to serve your toddler granddaughter. We also appreciate your feedback about our wait times. We try our best to keep our service timely without compromising the quality of our food.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Best,
Rick & Ann, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

And for us, that's really good. Paid attention to our dietary restrictions and needs. Patient with our three kids and us.

Thank 9712seashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you and your kids enjoyed our fresh, organic cuisine. It is our goal for all our guests to feel like they are eating a home-cooked meal. We are also sensitive to our diners' dietary restrictions, so we are glad to know all your needs were met. It was a pleasure cooking for you, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Rick & Ann, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

we had the north east (red beet hash, eggs) and emily's (2 eggs, bacon) AND a short stack of the potato pancakes (YUM!) but do yourself a favor and get a shortstack, they're huge. coffee very good, also. seating is a bit tight but not near as tight as anywhere in new york city...or SF for that matter. also the patio has a nice view of the hotel we stayed in. in short nothing disappointed. not even the service which others have mentioned as poor. i find that if you go into a place with a poor attitude you get what you deserve.

Thank brewsterstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We know we already reached out to you on Yelp, but we wanted to thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor as well. The next time you dine with us, be sure to say hello so we can thank you in person.

All the best,
Rick & Ann, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I make it a point to go to Rick & Ann's when we are in the bay area. They have great food and excellent service. If you read the reviews, you know that you will have to wait an hour or so to get in. (unless you get there right when they open). There is a generally good vibe about the place. This last time we went for breakfast, my wife had a potato/veggie plate that was very fresh and flavorful. I had an omlette with sun-dried tomatoes and it was good, however I thought it was a little heavy on the onions. I substituted fruit, and it was very fresh. They have a community table, and if you are a little adventurous, you can have a great time meeting new people. Try them out if you are not in a hurry........I think you will enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L, Owners at Rick & Ann's, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Ken,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We try to make our atmosphere as warm and inviting as the food we serve. We are happy to hear you loved our friendly and communal dining space. We hope to see you and your wife back for breakfast again soon.

Take care,
Rick & Ann, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick & Ann's also viewed

 

Been to Rick & Ann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing