We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!”

Julia's at the Berkeley City Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Julia's at the Berkeley City Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 707 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ellsworth Street
Transit: AC Transit, 1 mi. from Downtown berkeley BART
Description: Julia's at the Berkeley City Club is a French restaurant located in Berkeley, CA. Our inspiration at Julia's begins with the bounty of seasonal produce and artisan products available to us in the Bay Area and highlighting those products with classic and modern techniques. Combined with our beautiful atmosphere and refined service, we look to create a memorable dining experience to all of our guests. Lunch: Tuesday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 5pm - 8:30pm Lounge Hours: Tuesday - Saturday, 4:30pm - 8pm
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Divine!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner was absolutely delicious from beginning to end. The butter lettuce salad was so fresh and the dressing so light and tasty. I had the gnocchi as an entree. It was light and sauced perfectly. My husband had the lamb and his only complaint was that he wanted more!! The chef sent us out a complimentary dessert with strawberries and basil foam on top after which my husband declared it to be the best dessert ever. He is not usually that effusive. The hostess was delightful and we had a great time chatting with her. The clientele was on the "mature" side but that may have something to do with where it is (inside the Berkewley City Club). I would go back a anytime I could!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momsal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had no idea the Berkeley City Club even existed...yet alone contained such a charming and elegant restaurant such a Julia's. The dinner was lovely, eapecially in conjunction with the building itself. We poked all around this Julia Morgan gem and reveled in the architecture.
My only quibble with the restaurant is that I think $17 for 3 medium sized scallops for an appetizer, albeit beautifully presented, is a bit steep.... The duck breast was outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,470 reviews
1,007 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
“Historical "WOW" Factor”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First off if you are a history or architectural buff in any way, then dinner at Julia's can NOT be missed. Simply being in the room is worth the visit. Julia Morgan built this masterpiece in 1929 as the Berkeley Women's City Club near the Berkeley campus. To walk in the lobby and up to the 2nd floor is a complete "WOW" and one of the bay area's hidden gems. (Try not to miss the pool - it's amazing).
We had cocktails in the outer area of the dining room. Comfy chairs and ornate moldings. The one down side to the night was that we had a bartender who was on her first night on the job and was very, very slow. However let's cut her some slack she freely admitted to us that this was her first night and my guess is that she has since speeded up her cocktail making!
The dining room is again "WOW", fresh cut flower, and just of Julia Morgan masterpiece. It's hard to eat in here and listen to dinner conversation, my eyes kept looking around this historic and elegant room.
Our meal was very good. I had a chicken breast that was delicious. Our server was a young man from UC Berkeley who was friendly and paid attention to detail and service. We had a wonderful dinner here.
Again this is a bay area gem that everyone should see. Dinner here is worth the trip and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Happy Hour: Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our son took us to the Berkeley City Club for happy hour. Lovely experience. Exquisite atmosphere, top-notch service and just an enjoyable place to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Intimate dinner setting, great food!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The menu was varied, including vegetarian, with interesting side dishes and salads. For a very small room, probably 10 tables, most seating 2, one wouldn't expect a great meal. We were pleasantly surprised! My husbands beef was cooked to exactly his specifications and my pork tenderloin had a wonderful sauce, was tender and juicy. The salads were garden fresh with unusual and flavorful ingredients. Also great wine selection.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Julia's at the Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're happy you found Julia's Restaurant so intimate. We seat around 50 and all have sat over groups of eight. Ãnd we're happy to hear you enjoyed both dinner and wine- Executive Chef Alaun and our Beverage Manager Jan and always trying new things.

See you soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's at the Berkeley City Club also viewed

 

Been to Julia's at the Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing