We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solano Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivoli Restaurant

Rivoli Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rivoli Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 692 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Neilson
Transit: North Berkeley BART
Description: Rivoli strives to be a hands on, moderately priced restaurant with simple and creative food, carefully selected wines and comfortable service in a warm and lively atmosphere. Rivoli’s distinction comes from the heart and soul of its owners and staff. The menu relies on what is seasonal, local and fresh, using mostly organic produce, sustainably caught fish and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wines are selected for their affinity with the food, and offer the best values from the cooler regions of California and the Old World. The dining room staff provides friendly and attentive service and the chefs and cooks are skilled artisans of their craft.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Solano Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant many times (spur of moment to anniversary) and have never been disappointed by the excellent food and service. It is by far our fav restaurant on Solano ! We prefer a table looking out over the lovely garden. The menu is diverse and accommodating (wife does not eat meat). Best Halibut ever and for me the lamb shank is heaven. Good selection of special cocktails and extensive, well though out wine list. There is nothing to dislike about this excellent restaurant. Reservations recommended but we've often eaten at the bar of the small tables in the front.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MattKells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    54
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoyed out dinner at Rivoli Saturday night. It's a very popular restaurant, judging from it being nearly full when we arrived at 5PM. The dining room is lovely with an entire wall a window to a lovely garden of blooming camellias. Service was perfect, and our food was excellently prepared. Our appetizers (little gem salad, portobello fritters, and gnocchi) were very good. My lamb fell off the bone and was very tasty. Only negative was that the accompanying spinach was a bit over-salted. My husband's pork was excellent, and our nephew enjoyed his shrimp dish. Our desserts (warm brownie and crepe) were excellent too. My husband had a glass of wine which went well with the pork. We would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very pretty room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is lovely inside, and the food was imaginative and pretty good, if not breathtaking. I especially liked the little gem lettuce salad. The room is quiet enough to hear your dinner partners' conversation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lives up to its excellent reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Rivoli is a great place for that special dinner. The restaurant looks out on a beautiful garden. The walls and ceiling are sound-absorbing, so you can have a pleasant conversation. Service is attentive and professional. Oh, may be I should mention the food too. Yes, it is inventive, interesting and well prepared. We really enjoyed it. The mushroom appetizer is superb, so is the yellowtail main course. The cheesecake is worth the calories! For two people with wine and tip the bill came to $135.-

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandpa284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The food is innovative and delicious and the staff treats everyone like a regular. The menu could rival the best restaurants anywhere, but without the stuffiness or high prices. We went for our anniversary and I'd like to go back for my birthday! It is definitely worth the trip from SF or elsewhere for a very memorable meal. (Note: the menu changes every 3 weeks and is posted on the website.)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WCLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivoli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rivoli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing