We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than some in Chicago”

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
Ranked #3 of 696 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than some in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Not a big deep-dish pizza fan, I still find this place better than some in Chicago...Generally, one slice feeds me for the night. It's true that the wait can be depressing, so we'd normally go for a takeout

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    85
    27
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love Zachary's - the spinach and mushroom special without muschrooms add canadian bacon is my husband's go to and it is spectacular, I love their artichokes and sausage - I mostly love the awesome sauce and the oozing cheese and the ability to order par baked

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurainMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just spectactular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Love this place - I moved to Novato and my friends bring 1/2 baked Zachary's to our house. Love that!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
925 reviews
594 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Happy Ex-pat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nine generation Chicago born and bred and a confirmed pizza snob. So I know these people turn out a good pie. Crust good, toppings good, typical indigestion was missing, might be we ordered the veggie selections. Spinach and artichokes should always top your pie. Wanted to steal the street signs off the walls (to take home), if the decor was stripped down to minimalist then it would have seemed more like a CHI town pizza joint. Maybe some chipped paint, perhaps?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiredandtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Zachary's San Ramon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Zach's pizza is like nothing else you've ever tried. It is more like a lasagne-style deep dish than what you're used to. It is out of this world. Service is excellent due to the employee-owned waiters and servers. Prices are reasonable, selection is great and there is one guy named Jared at the San Ramon location who is so helpful and polite - he really goes out of his way to please.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing