We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Asset For Berkeley: Don't Miss!”

Berkeley Repertory Theatre
Ranked #9 of 81 things to do in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
588 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Wonderful Asset For Berkeley: Don't Miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Over the last six years the Berkeley Rep Theatre has given us some of our most satisfying and enjoyable experiences Its an excellent theatrical venue with three performing spaces and a range of performances and plays that is quite extraordinary. This is one of the best repertory theaters in the English-speaking world and we're familiar with the theater scene in the UK, Australia and the US. Its a permanent treasure for East Bay and SF residents, and for visitors to the area I'd strongly urge people to check out the Berkeley Rep Theatre's programme well in advance and book a show or play to enjoy during your stay in the Bay area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    14
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great plays always, great theaters (two)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Berkeley Repertory Theater is regional theater at its best. And the Berkeley Rep has a knack for developing shows that end up on Broadway. This theater fosters rising playwrights so it presents new plays - I think they were the first theater to give Tony Kushner (Angels in America) nurture -- and classics. I've never seen a bad show there. And if you are in SF, the theater is just a couple blocks from the downtown subway station so take the subway over so you don't have to park or drive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TreeFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Repertory Theater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have had a subscription to BRT for years. The plays are always interesting, some newer than others. The acting is definitely professional. There are actually 2 theaters. The Rhoda Theater (big one) is very comfortable and there are no sight line or sound problems. I love the Thrust Theater (smaller one) where the more experimental plays are performed. How could you not go to a play called "In the Next Room--the Vibrator Play."

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cantorpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Season subscriber for 20+ years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

As a subscriber to Berkeley Rep for so long I most most enjoy most performances. I only recall leaving a play at intermission on one occasion, and I do not recall what the performance one. Several plays that have originated on the stages of Berkeley Rep have eventually made in to Broadway.

If you like live theatre Berkeley Repertory Theatre will most likely be a rewarding experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been subscribers for many years, and every year we discover new works and new versions of older works that are thought-provoking, funny, poignant, educational, stimulating, and filled with wonderful acting. Absoluetly worth a visit no mater what is playing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaraOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berkeley Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing