We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Berkeley
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed May 6, 2014

At the moment I booked the Knights Inn was the only location below the 300$/night limit.
It is a little distant from downtown San Francisco but when you are not afraid of walking you just take the BART after a 10 minutes walk and without traffic jams you will join the main places within 30-60 minutes, depending on where you want to go. Depending on where you stay in the city this won't be different.
The vicinity is not particularly spoiled, a lot of homeless people hang around or just try to find shelter wherever it is less windy or wet.
The motel itself can only be described as very clean - the rooms have a decent size and bathroom is clean and comfortable.
I suppose the bathroom is cleaned with bleach leaving a pertinent smell of Hypo chloric acid - the most serious drawback.
Well you can overcome that by ventilating the room abundantly and helping with some better smelling chemicals.
The beds are very nice and comfortable. The amenities are ok - my fridge did not work but since the weather was not hot I did not need it.
The Wifi is free and of a really excellent quality.
The surroundings are quite except for the train you can hear whistling from time to time.
The advertised breakfast is a joke, you can get a packed cookie at the reception together with a coffee.
An overall ok-good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 89 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Within this price range, this is one of the most pleasant stays I've had. From tthe outside with the unexpected landscaping to the fresh, clean grounds you have a very cozy feeling. Inside the rooms are large, clean and very attractive. Amenties are up-to-date including the large screen TV, upgrade refrig and micro, nice hair dryer and good quality personal supplies. Really a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumpup67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I'd never ever go back to this place ever! Worse customer service I've ever experienced and the rooms smelled very bad The furniture is scratched up like it's from a junk yard! Very rude front desk person and the deposit is $150.00 to hold on your credit card for 3 days minimum.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Famous14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Inexpensive - compared to rivals (60$ difference in price for similar quality). Reasonable sized room, very clean, excellent shower and standard facilities. About 20 minutes distance from San Francisco downtown. Went for a walk about in the early evening - to be recommended very beautiful at the waters edge

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NettieDearmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked (using Wyndham service) a month in advance receiving confirmation number. Despite that my room was not available and I was forced to look for a different motel. I was there with 5 kids so you can imagine all the issues I had in doing that

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank rmondo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a visit to my niece's graduation from Berkeley. Some family members stayed at a 5 star hotel in town, but we opted for a less expensive option. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this motel. It had been newly renovated, and was super clean. The management is very friendly and helpful. There is a small offering for breakfast of coffee and a sweet roll, but while not filling, it is a nice touch and seems to expense the owners hospitality.
The location is also close to the main part of town.

On the down side, making the reservations was a little uneven, and the water pressure (in the otherwise beautiful bathroom) is low. But, we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is an inexpensive place that's nice to hole up for a week or so if you are visiting the University or just staying in town a little while. It's close to the North Berkeley BART station (about 3 blocks south) and less than a mile from the west edge of campus. There's a "microfridge" in each room for saving and reheating leftovers. The rooms are small and don't have too many accouterments, but they are very clean, and the owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virtualcourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,398 reviews
1 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Berkeley

Address: 1512 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $109 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With affordable access to downtown San Francisco, our Knights Inn Berkeley hotel is a no-frills choice when seeking a place to call home near the University of California, Berkeley campus. Our location offers essentials like free WiFi and free continental breakfast, and we're close to the AMTRAK Berkeley Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Knights Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Capri Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing