We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nash Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nash Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
san diego ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

I live in San Diego, CA. My daughter goes to UC Berkeley. I visit my daughter in this hotel twice a year for the past three consecutive years. I love it, and I would absolutely stay here again. The Hotel is in an ideal location especially for some one new to Berkeley. It is within walking distance to the movie theaters, the restaurants, the shops, and the Bart Station. They have very reasonable prices for the clean and comfortable rooms. The staffs are friendly, and extremely helpful when I ask questions.

  • Liked — price ,location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanDiegoCaSweetberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    10
    5
    23
See reviews for
10
10
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

very good location and very good price. The people there are very helpful and give us a lot of good information.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank meibichsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

For the price and friendly staff, it is a bargin in downtown Berkeley; walking distance to UC Berkeley and many shops and restuarants. On top the that, the hotel keeps us "in touch" with FREE internet access and Free incoming phone calls.

Definitely a "Stay" for me next time.

  • Liked — Reasonable cost for all the convenience in downtown Berkeley
  • Disliked — Not a "fancy Pricy" hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank EnjoyMyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

I'm surprised at all the negative reviews on this hotel!

I've stayed here 50+ times in the last 5 years while visiting relatives in Berkeley. Of course, for $69/night, it's not a five star hotel, but the rooms are clean, the location is great, and the people in the lobby are very friendly and accomodating. Once when I was here 2 years ago, I met William Hung, the Berkeley prodigy turned (failed) singer in American Idol. Apparently, he had opted to stay in Nash during his college career instead of renting an apartment, which I thought was pretty smart since cleaning, especially when you're bombarded with tons of work as a student, is so tedious!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank CalGirl4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming & Sanibel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

I expected to find this "hotel" on TAs list of the dirtiest hotels -- but instead I find it ranked #10 in Berkeley, so I decided I need to add my review from when we stayed there in Feb. 2006.

The only people who I could think would rate this hotel well would be students from third-world nations or college students who don't mind filthy living conditions. The only nice thing I say is that the location is wonderful and there is indeed free wireless available in the lobby.

Unfortunately, I did not take a photo of the room, but I did of the bathroom sink, exterior of the hotel and the first floor lobby area. This truly is a skid-row establishment.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell_Net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

This was absolutely the most disgusting place I've ever had the misfortune of stepping into. The smell was atrocious, the carpets filthy and the room...oh dear lord, where to begin...dirty stained-sheets...we didn't even think of sitting near or on the beds, I feared scabies or crabs or god knows what else. The bathroom was filthy with hair in the shower....dirty stained floor and sinks. I'm serious, I've used outhouses that were far more appealing. We didn't dare check out under the bed, frankly I don't even wan to know what horrors lurk there. The drapes were stained and filthy and the t.v. and min-fridge were jokes (totally run-down, straight from the 70s'). The furniture was equally as disgusting, we found cigarette butts in the drawers of the night stand. Seriously, we had no idea that this disgusting hotel was anywhere near this bad or we never would have approached it. On top of all this the room was a mind-blowing $122 for a single night....absolutely ludicrous to say the least, I feel as though I should have been paid three times that amount for even stepping into this hole. This place is a hooker hotel there is no doubt about it, watch out for dirty syringes, used condoms and bloody latex gloves, you'll find them aplenty at the nash hotel, the sketchiest disease-pit I've ever been in...it gives me nightmares even thinking back on it. BEWARE!!!

  • Liked — Nothing!!!
  • Disliked — Filthy!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MasterBlaster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Student8, Manager at Nash Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2008
I believe this is a make up story for dispute credit card payment of rent. If they do not like the room, they can refuse to check-in or they can check out the second day. Why stay for 3 full days and make damage to the appliances as well as to the walls?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

This place is not a hotel but a place which is full of weirdos and homelesses. The reception is opened/available ONLY at the day's hours till 5:30 PM, then, things become scaring! The rooms and bathrooms are old and smell like, the furnitures are forth hand to say the least...and the beds are full of scavias (prepare to scratch yourself to death). Also there are no external phone lines in the rooms. The rates are high even compare to other hotels around.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dona9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nash Hotel

Property: Nash Hotel
Address: 2045 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1090
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nash Hotel, nestled in the heart of Berkeley, California, offers the charms and comforts you expect while away from home at a price that you can be happy about.Our mission is to pass down great value to our customers while providing quality accommodations with customer satisfaction being our number one priority. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, the Nash Hotel is here to help you make the most of your trip by giving you a pleasant and convenient home while you’re in town. Located within walking distance of restaurants, theaters, shopping, public transportation, etc. (just about anything!), this location surely cannot be beat. We reopened in June, 2014 after being closed for a year long renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing