We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night Disapointment”
Review of Super 8 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Berkeley
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank LOREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 433 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although by style a budget hotel, the price range reflects the location within walking distance to BART-station (approx. 30 Minutes to Downtown San Francisco). Rooms ok, greeting by manager could be much more friendly. Renovated bath room.

Room Tip: Upper floor is always quieter but you have to carry your luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for enjoying your stay with us and please come back soon. Hope you make it back soon I am happy you enjoyed the internet and the hot breakfast. Hope all is well and make sure to always stay with us any Super 8 in the world. Thanks

with much respect

management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank JPLATINUM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had made advanced reservation for a room with two double beds for Sat, Sun & Mon. Total was suposed to be $355.04. We ended up having friends com to meet us there from 3 hrs. away and wanted a room so we called on fri. and reserved them a room for sat night also. The rate was raised to $160. We stopped by on Sat morning to check in and our plans had changed and we didn't need the room for Sun and Mon. The original rate was supposed to be around $120 for Sat and around $105 for Sun and Mon.
The manager was very rude with all of his comments or responses to questions as to why he raised our rate then to $160.
i will not give this place my business again. very poor customer service.
Loren Scott

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, Owner at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I am happy you enjoyed your stay, but I am sorry you felt it was over priced! Supply and Demand it was a foot ball weekend sorry. YOu cant complain about the price if you enjoyed your stay. However please come back again we will give you 20% off.

with much respect,

management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
CRYSTAL BAY
11
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank KATHLEEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed there in the month of October with my family. Our room was close by road with 3 beds on it. Amazingly, there was room inside room and it was huge. It has microwave, coffee in the room and nice decorated bathroom. When we arrived at motel, the manager Tony and front desk guy was amazingly helpful. They described the service we get there on our stay. Free internet, awesome continental breakfast with varieties of coffees. Once we had TV blacked out in our room but instantly we got it fixed by the manager. We got our rooms cleaned everyday by service maids, they were amazingly helpful as well. Motel location was great: close by bart, bus station, downtown, and UC Berkeley where our son is studying there right now. I recommend everybody to enjoy the stay in this motel. I'm going back for sure next time. Love it.

Room Tip: we stayed in the room close by road with 3 bed. It was quite and super awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parash s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you so much for being a loyal super 8 member. Please come back again there fore we can give you great service. I am happy you enjoyed the great newly renovated rooms and I am happy you enjoyed the area as well. come back soon have a super day!

with much respect,

mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.2 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
335 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.3 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $106 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing