We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay In Berkeley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We just returned from a trip that started in Jackson Hole, Wyoming and ended in Los Angeles, we stayed at many different motels/hotels.. everything from a Motel 6 to a Four Seasons. We stayed at the Rodeway Inn in Berekely for four nights, and it was our favorite place of all the places we stayed. The location was excellent; our son is student at UC Berkeley and it is right down the street. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable with refrigerators and microwaves. There was a free breakfast with far more than the coffee and donuts other places offer-- cereals, waffles, english muffins, yogurt, etc. The service was excellent, the front desk people were more than willing to help you with directions or any other questions you might have. There is free parking and a computer at the front desk available for guests to use. I would definitely reccomend this for anyone visisting students in Berekeley. It was also close to the BART which gets you into San Francisco in about twenty minutes. On weekends, anyhow, there is plenty of free parking at the station, although it is a very short walk to the motel. This is a reasonably priced find and we hightly reccomend it!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank ctg280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2008

This was a great alternative to the high priced hotels in San Francisco. The BART station is a 5 minute walk. Its a 1/2 hour trip to Embarcadero Station in SF. The room was a bit small but was very clean. No noise at night. The front desk was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us (a little coffee, a little cereal and a toasted bagel). Parking was no problem. I'd come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BSouliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

This is the best budgeted hotel I've stayed in throughout my roadtrip across California! It exceeded my expectations in every way. It was obvious it had been newly remodeled, and I think they did a pretty good job! Free parking (we never had any trouble finding a space), free breakfast and juices, free wireless internet, and a new flatscreen TV to top it off! The room was a little small but that's no big problem...At least the bed was very comfy! There was also a very good size refrigerator and a microwave in each room.

It was difficult for us to find a decent place near the Berkeley campus at a reasonable price, so I'm glad we found the Rodeway Inn. It's right on University so there is easy access to the UC campus. There's a grocery store right across the street, and several restaurants within walking distance. Great place when you're on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rachelvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Located walking distance to CAL. Computer and breakfast room in the lobby. Clean, free parking, recently remodeled.
I would stay here again as my 1st choice in Berkeley.
This motel that exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ready29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We needed a hotel during graduation week at Berkeley - and we didn't want to pay a fortune for it since we don't really go somewhere to hang around at the hotel. Rodeway Inn was in the location we wanted and was reasonably priced. The rooms are small but the beds are comfortable and everything is very clean. Check in was quick and efficient. There's a nice little breakfast area with coffee, tea, juice, toast, muffins, cereal, etc, and free wireless internet service throughout the hotel. The people at the desk were extremely pleasant and helpful. I went to the breakfast room hoping to find some coffee in the afternoon - and although they really only have it available at breakfast the desk clerk offered to make some for me. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance and the area around the hotel feels safe. It's a good place to stay if you don't need the fancy lobby, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

The Rodeway Inn has become my favorite safe, clean, inexpensive place to stay in Berkeley. I've spent a total of 6 nights there, in 3 different rooms, over the last 2 months. The modest rooms have been recently rennovated, which helps a lot. The basic amenities are all available, including continental breakfast. The beds are comfy. There are a number of terrific restaurants right around, and an Andronico's grocery with excellent deli food right across the street. The standout feature of this motel is the unfailingly helpful, cheerful, friendly staff. They really understand what customer service is all about. I just wanted other travelers to know about this terrific little place to stay in Berkeley.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sallygk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

What a find! I was on vacation, visiting family and friends, so the University Ave. location worked well for me, easy to get to and from. They maintain a high standard of service and cleanliness. There are restaurants, coffee bars, and a supermarket close by. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WanderasIWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
342 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $149 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing