We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the price point” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Fresh coat of paint on interior and exterior surfaces. Bathroom seemed fresh, newly appointed. Room spotless. Furniture was a bit worn but not in any way that mattered. Man at the desk was friendly an efficient. I had a package mailed to the office to hold for my arrival. Before I could even ask for it, the manager was reaching for it when I handed him my ID. Shower water pressure was terrible, but that's California's strict water usage codes for you. Mine at home's not much better because of the gpm regs here. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natasha_Southtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Natasha,

Thank you for staying at Berkeley Rodeway Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our staff's hospitality. Sorry about shower pressure, unfortunately you are right about California's strict water usage codes. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    132
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
91
62
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

As long as you know what type of place you are staying at, you will not be disappointed. The Rodeway inn is what I would consider as the typical US motel where you park your car in front of your room. However, the rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the shower and the heating work well. It is a 5 minute walk from the North Berkeley BART station and a 20 minute walk to downtown Berkeley. Also, the breakfast is quite nice (cereal, good coffee, good orange juice, apples, frozen french toast and waffles, toasts). It is not luxurious, but for it is great value. The guy at the front desk was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank luimart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Lumiart,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rodeway Inn while traveling to Berkeley. We are pleased that you found our accommodations comfortable and clean and enjoyed our continental breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The first time I stayed at the Rodeway Inn was wonderful. The room was clean and I really enjoyed my stay. Fast forward 6 months and I grabbed the last room available. What a disappointment! The room was on the street side and had not been renovated. It smelled of mildew and some sort of noxious plastic. It was so bad I couldn't sleep but there were no other rooms.

Room Tip: My suggestion is to book early and ask for a room near the office and away from the street. Once the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear A.O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn on a second visit. We are displeased that you were unhappy with your accommodations on this stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Not many frills here, but a solid, affordable, clean motel with a very helpful and courteous staff. The breakfast bar was adequate, and the coffee was excellent! I was impressed how quiet the room was, given the fact that the motel is sited on University Ave., a major Berkeley street. The flowers and planting in the parking lot were a nice touch, and well-maintained. The parking lot itself was ultra-clean, as well. A nice bonus---just next door was an excellent Thai restaurant, and within 2-3 blocks were equally wonderful Indian, Italian, and other restaurants. Finally, I happened to lodge here on the weekend of Cal/Berkeley homecoming---I was braced for extra-high rates then; they were a bit higher, but certainly not outrageous.

Hal H.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerryama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Jerryama,

Thank you for choosing the Berkeley Rodeway Inn for your stay. We are pleased that you were comfortable with your room and amenities and that you enjoyed the various options for dining surrounding our Motel. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your 5 star review! We hope to welcome you back on a future trip to Berkeley.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon Island, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a visit to Berkeley and to see family. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and pleasant area surrounding the parking lot with hanging baskets and roses still growing in November. (We're from Seattle) The bed was very comfortable, the room was a good size for two and we were not walking into each other or climbing over each other to get to the rest room. The Manager? Owner? was friendly and helpful in every way. The breakfast was much more than is usual in a motel atmosphere. Healthy bread, yogurt, cereal, English muffins, and more and great coffee. (Again, we're from Seattle.) We stayed for three days and have zero complaints. We're thrilled to have found this jewel and plan to stay for our next visit to Berkeley. Thank you Rodeway Inn management for giving us a perfect experience. AND FREE PARKING

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vashonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear vashonbarb,

Thank you choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn during your recent visit to Berkeley. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, amenities and breakfast selection
Thank you for your comments and 5 star review. We welcome your feedback and look forward to your next visit from Seattle!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been in this hotel before during previous vacations. Nothing really changed. It's not the most luxury accomodation but it's at a good price. The rooms are quite clean and have everything you need if you're just staying for the night and discovering Berkeley and SF during the day. I love the fact that there is a bART station a few blocks away so you can get into SF without any problem. Service is friendly and check-in and check-out were efficient.

If you want to have a good coffee and breakfast with some fresh pastry or other delicious treats I can recommend Fellini just around the corner of the hotel.

Room Tip: Have a room away from the street in the middle of the property which is more quiet and not close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear GerhardvN,

Welcome back and thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rodeway Inn for your visit to the Bay Area. We are glad your stay was clean, convenient and everything you needed. We hope to welcome you back on a future visit to Berkeley.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a little surprise! An ultra clean, well-run property, conveniently located to the centre of Berkeley, and quiet. Flower baskets hang from verandah posts and are well tended - yet another sign that the managements takes presentation seriously. One of the day managers, Mr Raj, a quiet but efficient man has his finger on the pulse of his charge. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom beyond reproach, the audio-visuals excellent with HBO, free wifi, and modest breakfast facilities were a boon. The North Berkeley BART station is a short walk away. After a two night stay, I recommend this property as a great place for reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meath_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Meath_C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn during your business trip. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the Inn to be “Clean, convenient, quiet”. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Rodeway Inn on you next trip to Berkeley.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Property: Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing