We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful, delightful, friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley City Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berkeley City Club
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful, delightful, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

This is an old Julia Morgan historical building and I loved it! Staff were helpful and friendly, building was elegant and well maintained. Our room had a beautiful quilt on the bed and windows opened to inner courtyard, so very quiet.
It felt like a safe and nurturing place for a single woman, but my husband enjoyed it too. Quiet and definitely not a party place, but very pleasant. Loved using the indoor pool also.
Nice breakfast in morning was included.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
45
82
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SK Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Great beds, pillows are unfortunately overly soft. Lots of heritage if you want that, but it's not as amazing as I had hoped. Breakfast was ok but also not amazing. Great access to campus, though the free clinic up the way made me happy I wasn't driving. ("clean needles save lives" is great, but junkies break into cars too).

Kinda pricey for the unique experience I was hoping for, but there are some great gems; if you need to work the library is awesome. Lots of events on though (almost a community centre), so you may be interrupted.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrChris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Really enjoyed my stay at this lovely historic landmark. The hotel has many beautiful places to sit both indoors and out, and with free access to hot drinks from level one, you feel very at home wandering, drinking tea, & sitting and using wifi in the public areas of the hotel. My room was charming with a huge walk-in wardrobe and lovely bathroom. Great location close to UC Berkeley and the BART station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kypinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

I had booked a night at this hotel during Cal move-in weekend. After getting my son moved into his dorm, I walked to the hotel to get checked in. The guy at the desk had my reservation, and had printed out paper with all my information, but no room had been assigned and I was told that none was available. I'm not even sure how that happens? I would have felt better if they had no record of my reservation. Since it was move-in weekend, there was nothing close to the campus. Which was a problem because I didn't have a car (we had flown in from out of state). The location of the hotel is great and it looked clean from what I could tell, but I would never attempt to stay here again because there was "no room at the inn" for me...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lisenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed in the City Club for more that 6 weeks in 2008 and 2009 and I can tell you... Best thing ever (if you don't miss a TV in your room). The rooms are tiny but the building is amazing. There is a private indoor pool in the 1st floor (used it every day). Free breakfast (not like Super8 crap, al real breakfast with daly changing special).

Parking is 12 bucks a day. Also, University is just 1 block away... I love it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed here in April for my sisters wedding. Pros -- Good location in Berkley, beautiful building and grounds, good breakfast. Cons- The rooms are tiny (it is a vintage hotel). The staff at this hotel are a headache. There was one staff (of the four we interacted with) who was helpful. When they accidentally booked our card for four nights (we only stayed two) they told us "it sounds like your problem". That attitude was constant. Any request was met with a bad attitude (again with the exception of one staff).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dodgerfan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I stayed at the BCC with my teenage son recently. The room rate was great (particularly given the links to other university-type eating/hotel clubs), the public spaces were fabulous (designed by famed CA architect Julia Morgan in 1930), the pool was gorgeous (I didn't use the free access to the UC athletic system across the street), and the food was fine. A very tasty burger, great breakfasts, free coffee and tea through the day (I worked on my computer at the hotel much of the week).

And I unexpectedly saw a play about the Jewish egg farmers of Petaluma--it has a real sense of a community cultural hub.

Reminded me of my wonderful experiences at the Tabard Inn in Washington. No TV in the rooms (there's one elsewhere in the hotel) but the historic vibe was more than worth the tradeoff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Property: Berkeley City Club
Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkeley City Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by architect Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing