We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
120
99
56
22
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
120
99
56
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hearst castle julia morgan architectural gem two floors indoor pool continental breakfast public rooms historic hotel peet's coffee rooms are small gorgeous building elevator shaft old world hard boiled eggs yogurt common areas are the wi fi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 310 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2019

Here for a wedding. Room has no a/c, no TV, no hot water for shower, plug in hand basin not working
No safety on windows we were on the 6th floor and a sheer drop down. Thank goodness no children
Bed size not even a queen - a double bed
I would not recommend this hotel for guests who are coming to a wedding
Would rather stay in a hotel with amenities and cab here to attend the wedding
Bringing luggage in we had to use the maintenance entrance and walk through the laundry and the garbage- quite disgusting. No wheelchair access to the front door of the hotel
I do not believe this hotel meets the required safety codes
Will NEVER stay here again

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 48Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

This building was designed by Julia Morgan, who was also the architect for Hearst Castle.

The pool is a bit reminiscent of the one in Hearst Castle and the general style has similarities too.

It's its own little wonderland, beautifully kept and with great external elevations with interesting details. Staff are great.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UKTurkeyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

So this is a tough review because Berkeley City Club is a bit all over the place. The standard rooms are small with I guess date appropriate furniture. To me, the furniture was functional and out dated. The shower was different - they added a shower curtain on an oval all the way around he tub - so now it’s a restricted size shower that can’t be used as a bath any more because the shower curtain goes 360 degrees around you with 4 places where the curtain can’t go past. The water pressure was very (very) low. You cannot control the room temperature with a thermostat - you use the space heater (in the closet) or open windows. You have 6 pillows in the room but they are all the same pillow type (with that many pillows I figured I would have a choice). The included breakfast was pretty good - it is a really nice continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. The views were decent from the room and the proximity to Cal was great. The adjacent parking lot was a benefit ($20 a day).

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank jeffreyf933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019 via mobile

This old Club hotel in Berkeley is really a place I Can recommend. The rooms are old in a charming Way, very clean and some of Them have a nice view over the Bay Area. The staff are very kind and helpfull and the breakfast are good.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank larsmunchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018

We visited over the holidays. The lobby was festive and extra beautiful with a tree, menorah, and poinsettias . Our room on the Sixth Floor facing west had been recently renovated with new carpet, drapes, and pergo flooring. The view over Berkeley to San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge was spectacular. The mattress was the most comfortable I have enjoyed ever. The day staff was friendly and helpful. The night staff was friendly but not especially helpful. We asked for a wake-up call at 5 AM and they scheduled it for 5:30 AM. Fortunately, we had also set our alarms. The cold breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room was elegant. My only gripes were the ultra-low-flow shower head, which was annoying (especially as the lavatory and toilet were the original 1920s water wasters) and the overall coolness of the building in the Winter. We were able to partially remedy our room temperature with adjustments to the radiator but they appear to only run the heat at night. While it was not a problem for us, prospective guests should know that there are no TVs in the rooms. There is a small TV room with a nice sized TV off the lobby which we used to share photos and videos with our family. Another note, not all of the rooms have been as nicely renovated as our was. My mother-in-law stayed on the 5th Floor facing east and her room had an older carpet and a painted concrete floor.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews