We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Old Time Comfort”
Review of Berkeley City Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berkeley City Club
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historic Old Time Comfort”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This Julia Morgan-designed, old and historic hotel was once a women's club and is still a membership club with lots of activities, pool, and great ambiance. As a hotel, it's no-frills and old, but truly charming with very cool architecture and comfy, little nooks that are a real treat. The Julia Morgan Room and the Library are worth visiting for their history and so is spying into all the various rooms that host shows and meetings. Guests are treated to an ample breakfast of cereal, bagels, muffins, and fruit in the lovely old dining room. Hotel rooms, while small and old-fashioned, have very comfortable beds and large closets. We stayed in one of the very few rooms with two beds - a double and twin.The hotel's location, just about 2 blocks from the main street, is ideal - away from the hustle, but close enough to walk everywhere. Some of the neighboring buildings are a bit tired and sketchy. The hotel is very accessible from Oakland Airport via BART.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have more than one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCCGuestSupport, Admin Support at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Cindy C,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The architecture is such a treasure. I am glad you were able to be present to its beauty, as well as benefit from our fabulous location!

We truly wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    80
    44
    18
    11
See reviews for
47
85
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this architectural delight. The location was perfect for us. We were in Berkeley to attend a fabulous CAL Performances Concert. If you are visiting for one of these concerts, this is an ideal hotel. First Congressional Church is just across the street and the other main venue, Zellerbach Hall is a couple of blocks away.

The hotel, designed by Julia Morgan of Hearst Castle fame, is absolutely beautiful. It was completed in 1930 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. We loved our period room with overlooking the UC Berkeley campus. The bathroom had original tiles and was spotless. We appreciated the walk-in closet and the comfortable bed. Although the heating system made a bit of noise at night it was easy to adjust to. The public spaces on the first and second floors are very impressive. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast provided in the beautiful dining room each morning. No tv in the rooms but what a great chance to catch up on a good book. Check out the lovely library and amazing swimming pool. The staff was very polite and helpful.There is a computer available for guests in the lobby. It came in handy when we did our flight check-in and boarding passes. Yes there is complimentary w-ifi on the first and second floors. We were lucky and got a signal in our sixth floor room.

There are lots of restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. If you head out for a walk, don`t miss the beautiful and historic UC Berkeley Campus, Take the university bus to the Botanical Gardens. The bus cost is only $1.

If you are arriving at Oakland International airport as we did, use the BART connector and BART rapid transit to get to the Downtown Berkeley station. The hotel is only 5 blocks away. BART was also our travel choice to downtown San Francisco.

Room Tip: We found the sixth floor facing UC Berkeley quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCCGuestSupport, Admin Support at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Jhnh,

Thank you so very much for your kind and thoughtful review!

I agree, the location is most ideal, especially for the all of the great performances within walking distance. We are so glad you both enjoyed your visit to Berkeley.

Wishing you both all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The club is from a beautiful time period and that is reflected in the first and second floors. The guest rooms are sparse and old, but clean. It was noisy due to the construction even though I was told I had a quiet room. The room did not have good airflow and stayed warm through the night with the window open. Fortunately, the weather cooled. On my last night, a door down the hall had been painted and while they sealed it with plastic, the fumes seeped into my room. Overall, I prefer a few more amenities, but would stay again when the construction ends if the price was competitive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank H_ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this lovingly preserved historic hotel. Rooms were simple and comfortable, with great beds and porcelain tubs with shower conversion. Wood floors and rugs, original decor. So refreshing to avoid the plastic, anonymous and characterless sort of hotel and just walk back here after a great lunch at Chez Panisse. The windows open and their are some splendid lounges and a garden courtyard. Not at all noisy, just the distant rumble of a swim meet a couple of blocks away. Totally charming.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
243 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you've read the other reviews you understand the limitations (i.e., no TV, street noise-earplugs are on your nightstand, no desk, weak wi-fi in rooms, one spare electric outlet, etc.). I can add that the heating system can't cope with temperatures at or below freezing (a rare event, admittedly, in the Bay area). Also, no AC for those rare hot days. Now for all the great stuff. First, this is the closest you'll likely get to spending a night in the Hearst Castle. Both the Club and the Castle were designed by the famed Julia Morgen and have similar architecture, although the Club is on a smaller scale. So, this is your chance! The first and second floor common rooms and alcoves are suptuous, classic and at times breathtaking. Sitting in the pool balcony is like being in church.The restaurant, Julia's, (which I could not try) is rated as one of the best in Berekely. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms big enough and with the amenities you have come to expect (although the cheap toilet paper was a surprise). Service is good, but this is your aunt and college-age nephew working there; not the Ritz-Carlton. The place is very clean and well maintained for a century-old building. I admit my most cherished moments were spent in one of the adorable alcoves working and watching TV shows online. It's a ten minute walk to downtown Berekely with many good choices for food, and ten minutes to the University area. The BART station is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bloodman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the city club in Nov 2013, and we had a great time. The hotel's atmosphere is unbelievable, it's an architectural gem, with inviting interiors, all period furniture. The rooms are small but quaint, and comfortable, with vintage bathrooms, really cool. The dining room where we had breakfast (included) was also quite amazing. This is right downtown Berkeley, you can't go wrong. Also don't forget your swimsuit, the swimming pool in also very cool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for one night in this historic property, but we were unlucky to be placed in a room on the side of the hotel next to a big construction project. This was not too disruptive as we planned to get up early anyway, but work started about 7:30 am so if you are not an early riser, then best to request a room on the other side. Otherwise, we enjoyed the swimming pool, lounge areas and the continental breakfast was substantial, well presented, and service was friendly. This is a vintage 1930s property with original bathrooms, fixtures and steam heat radiators, so if you are prepared for and enjoy that standard then you will like the Berkeley City Club.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction underway on one side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depechedip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
1.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Property: Berkeley City Club
Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkeley City Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by architect Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing