We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great”
Review of Berkeley City Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berkeley City Club
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the city club in Nov 2013, and we had a great time. The hotel's atmosphere is unbelievable, it's an architectural gem, with inviting interiors, all period furniture. The rooms are small but quaint, and comfortable, with vintage bathrooms, really cool. The dining room where we had breakfast (included) was also quite amazing. This is right downtown Berkeley, you can't go wrong. Also don't forget your swimsuit, the swimming pool in also very cool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    83
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
48
86
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for one night in this historic property, but we were unlucky to be placed in a room on the side of the hotel next to a big construction project. This was not too disruptive as we planned to get up early anyway, but work started about 7:30 am so if you are not an early riser, then best to request a room on the other side. Otherwise, we enjoyed the swimming pool, lounge areas and the continental breakfast was substantial, well presented, and service was friendly. This is a vintage 1930s property with original bathrooms, fixtures and steam heat radiators, so if you are prepared for and enjoy that standard then you will like the Berkeley City Club.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction underway on one side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depechedip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are a light sleeper, this probably isn't the hotel for you. There is major construction right next door, and the boiler (?) makes really loud noises at night. Also, since it's an historic building, the windows are single-paned, so you also hear all of the normal amount of Berkeley street noise.

Gorgeous swimming pool and decent continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the side of the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctaraCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sometimes it is not about having a TV in your room or a three course breakfast. Sometimes it is about the experience of staying in an historic place where the walls are steeped in history. Julia Morgan was a world famous architect with accolades such as Hearst Castle and Asilomar. To set the record straight she did not design the Ahwahnee Hotel at Yosemite National Park.

Also known as Julia’s Castle this now private club with rooms to rent is a step back in history to 1930 with amazing fireplaces, a library and indoor pool; be sure to bring your bathing suit.
The rooms are ample in size, some with interesting views of the courtyard and walk to Telegraph Ave, shops, restaurants and the Berkeley Campus if you are so inclined.

Bring a book, a deck of cards, or a favorite game to play with your companion as it is all about the structure and history.

Be sure to wander the halls and common rooms late at night; you never know what you will hear or see, maybe the silhouette of Julia’s spirit crossing from room-to-room, a famous deceased pianist gently twinkling the ivories in the Library or domino players in the game room overlooking the courtyard. I could swear I saw Alfred Hitchcock himself coming out of the Men’s room on the second floor and then in an instant he was gone.

Room Tip: Bring your bathingsuit, the indoor pool is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valhala95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Bought a groupon for the Berkeley City Club because it looked charming and I loved the history of the architect who also was responsible for Hearst Castle. I am sure the "club" was charming at one time, but the charm has gone out. Our first clue should have been the earplugs next to the bed. The rooms were small and old and over fragranced...to cover up what? The radiator went on and off all night, as well as sounds from the free clinic next door. No ba in the hotel to have a night cap to help me sleep either. The location is great, right next to the campus if you happen to be visiting there, but I think I'd find another location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is such a truly beautiful place. Julia Morgan was an astonishing architect and she designed a little gem here. Today I sat in the courtyard surrounded by ferns and beautiful plants and birds chirping in the trees and the sounds of a tenor's aria accompanied by piano drifted down from a voice lesson in the 2nd floor library.

The rooms are adorable, and many have great views of the city or the bay. Last night we saw an original play in the little intimate theater. Today we had breakfast in the gorgeous dining room, swam in the stunning pool, and are planning to have a yoga class in the ballroom and then listen to a play reading and piano recital. Tomorrow there is a dance class, then an open mic night, a book club, and they have occasional tours of the hotel. There is a giant Scrabble board in the solarium, a television in the Julia Morgan Historical room, apples in a bowl in the lobby, The New York Times and other papers are around to read, they have WIFI, and great tea and coffee available all day.

All this a block from the University of Berkeley.

Room Tip: Just ask the desk. There is construction next door at the moment, so avoid that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savolkhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Club was designed to be the center of city social activity back in the 1920s. It has multiple event rooms, two theaters, and a pool. It is a real mixed bag, and you might be better off just touring the first two floors rather than staying here.

The first two floors are beautiful, obviously inspired by a classic Italian villa. A view of the pool alone is worth the visit. I would love to give 5 stars for the first two floors, but honestly, I have to only give four stars because is it hard to ignore the wear and tear of the last 90 years.

The guest rooms are also from the 1920s. They are tiny with 1920s fixtures, and no TV but you do have WiFi in many rooms. The rooms are clean and well maintained, but not luxurious in any way. A bit of a let down after seeing the elegance of the first two floors! Normally I would give one star, but the view is fantastic if you can get a room on the bay side on the 5th or 6th floor (and some 4th floor rooms as well).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Property: Berkeley City Club
Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkeley City Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by architect Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing