We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berkeley City Club
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkeley Rodeway Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
$180
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$242
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Inn(Berkeley)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
114
90
49
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
90
49
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshearst castlejulia morganarchitectural gemtwo floorsindoor poolserved in a lovely dining roommorning swimsan simeonhistoric hotelguest rooms arecontinental breakfastpeet's coffeestepping back in timegorgeous buildingswimming lapsrooms are smallfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 286 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love this hotel; I've stayed there three times and am booked for a fourth. It's beautiful -- the architecture, courtyards, swimming pool -- it's like stepping back in time. The rooms I've stayed in were very nicely appointed, and the view of the Bay and Golden Gate Bridge are wonderful.

However -- it's not the kind of hotel my husband would like. There's no tv, the wifi is iffy, there's no air conditioning, and the street can be noisy if you leave the windows open, as I do. If this is what you're looking for, pass on by. If you're interested in a lovely hotel with charm and history, this is it. They have fans in the closet, and I always run one all night, to cover some of the noise. Yes, the street noise wakes me up early, but it's a nice kind of waking up.

I recommend the Berkeley City Club highly.

Room Tip: I guess that ones nearer to the elevator have a better chance at good wifi. But just enjoy it anyway.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliseAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Not the Holiday Inn indeed... You'll only find one TV throughout the entire hotel tucked away in one of our many rooms. The wifi is iffy though we're going to be making improvements in the future, be sure to check back when you're husband joins you!

We look forward to your return,

Berkeley City Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Berkeley City Club March 12-13th using a Groupon. Warmly greeted by Mary at check in she explained the parking situation, a lot adjacent to the hotel ($20 a night) or finding available street parking. After using their lot the first night we were fortunate to find street parking right outside the hotel for the second night. Our room #609 was a corner room on the top floor with a view of the Berkeley Hills and of the campus pool and track. Adjacent to the room were doors so one could step out onto a deck to see the beautiful bay and bridges. The room was quiet and tastefully decorated with antiques. Bed and bedding very comfortable and the room was spotless. Vintage bath with tile floor very period.

Sitting in the public rooms reminded me of being a guest at a miniature Hearst Castle. These rooms reflecting the grace and talent of Julia Morgan. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast with the fresh assortment of pasties, cereals and fruits. The coffee served was Peet's.

We were disappointed in the "Happy Hour" expecting some sort of hors d'oeuvres and drinks that were Happy Hour priced. We got a $6 glass of house wine (poured short) and a $5 beer. The only hors d'oeuvres was a small bowl of popcorn. Maybe some nice background music would have added to the atmosphere. My husband would have liked a TV in the room but I was OK without.

The Berkeley City Club is in a good location near BART and restaurants. We walked down to Shattuck street for dinner at Venus that was delicious but make sure you have reservations. We were there on a Wed. night early and the place was completely full by 6pm mostly locals.

All in all we really enjoyed our visit to the Berkeley City Club and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For quietness choose 6th floor facing the hills.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLC277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a wonderful building, designed by Julia Morgan, and has been converted into a hotel. There are also many amenities, a restaurant, a theater, a ballroom, meeting rooms, a great lobby area, a library, and a museum. However, the most impressive amenity is the indoor swimming pool. It resembles the indoor swimming pool at Hearst Castle in San Simeon, and it is wonderful!
The rooms are all different, with comfortable beds, tasteful period decor, original artwork, and views of the Bay & the Berkeley hills. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and there are hidden little gardens and courtyards all over. It is fun to explore. The location is walking distance to UC Berkeley, Shattuck &Telegraph Avenues, as well as the BART station. The hotel offers a parking lot adjacent to it, for a reasonable fee. We've been there 4 times in the past 3 years, and have not had a problematic room. The staff is helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: For a quieter night, ask for a room overlooking the Berkeley Hills, or the Bay, rather than Durant Ave.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for all the compliments Donna- sounds like you settle in quite well when you visit. Be sure to keep your eye out for our Special Offers only on Tripadvisor.... we have them regularly!

See you again soon,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This building is very interesting-small doors leading to small garden courtyards. Very well maintained. Staff very friendly. We were there to visit my daughter whom attends UC Berkeley--the location is perfect! Just a few blocks from campus!! Breakfast in the dining room was buffet--limited selection, but very good! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We're glad to hear you were so close to your daughter during your last visit to Berkeley. Looking forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Yep, we just spent the last evening in the 30's listening to period music and enjoying the different public rooms designed by the same architect as Hearst Castle - Julia Morgan. Our room even had a magnificient view of the Bay! Just wish I had my bathing suit because the indoor swimming pool certainly looked inviting.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank PTandNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

PT & NT - Yes bring your bathing suit on your next visit to the BCC! Thanks for mentioning the 30's music, it just sets the perfect tone throughout the hotel. Looking forward to having you back!

Berkeley City Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews