We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Charmer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley City Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley City Club to your Saves list
Berkeley City Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantasic Charmer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great Hotel stay in the bay area. Nice place. Great place to wonder and just check it out. Hotel has had a zillion dollars spent on it to save it, and in shows. You will be happy you stayed here. Great coffee in the AM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 183michaelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    64
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
42
74
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Three Rivers, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm always looking for a hotel with pool facilities where you can actually swim laps. Although the depth on one side of the pool is only 3 feet, the other side is plenty deep for flip turns and it is 25 yards long with four lanes for swimming laps! Plus it is a very artistic pool - designed by Julia Morgan with tiles and a view into the garden. Lovely hotel with great rooms - though they can be fairly loud if your neighbors aren't polite (but the staff took care of our partying neighbors after the first compliant!). Great location too! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. They've preserved the historic feel and ambiance of this place. I half expected to see folks walking around in aristocratic 1930s attire. There are lots of different areas to explore (garden courtyard, library/study, coffee/game area, dining room, pool, historic records, etc.) You will be surrounded by historic elegance. It was all so fancy and extravagant. The swimming pool is so impressive. The bottom is all small tiles forming the decorative patterns. Lots of extras - like in the locker room/changing area next to the pool, there is a machine that spins the water out of your swimming suit - and they provide q-tips to get the water out of your ears. We were fortunate that they had a special deal going at the time that we stayed, so we got a great price. Our room was right next to a balcony with a great view. The free breakfast had a decent variety to choose from. Service was good. And it's within walking distance to multiple restaurants, including Herbivore.

Room Tip: Ask for one near a balcony (unless it's important to you to have wifi in your room rather than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunkeshne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here using a Living Social deal, so making the reservation wasn't easy (they were full for weeks). It is such a neat building, every window and arch are so pretty. We wandered around after hours and saw the library, the dinig room and they looked so serene and beautiful. We found several outside "patios" with views. The rooms are not big, but comfortable. We had a view of bay bridge and a cute neighborhood. The bathtub is great. The swimming pool is just stunning, although it was cold. Parking was not a problem outside, although we had to remember to put $ in meter in the morning. It was quiet in our room but there is definitely lots of activity going on on ohter floors ( a party, a theater rehearsal). It just feels like a special, old place that people have enjoyed for years and it's fun to imagine what it was like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a member of the City Club, I frequently send my guests there and have stayed there myself.
It is the only Julia Morgan designed hotel in Berkeley, and an architectural jewel. (Julia Morgan restored the Fairmont Hotel in SF after the earthquake and designed the Hearst Castle on Highway 1). Nowhere else in Berkeley can you live architectural history. Hope you get a room there!

Room Tip: Get here before construction starts and the rooms with bayview will be obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mechthild32006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Got a steal of a deal on Living Social and stayed for an anniversary getaway. Enjoyed our 3-night stay very much! Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We spent most of our time exploring San Francisco during the day and I was initially concerned about the travel back and forth from Berkeley, but the amazing public transportation system was a close walk, it was no hassle at all. It was very quiet at night in the hotel and we even had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge from our room! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreativeRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Berkley City Club is a bare bones hotel, but clean and super cheap in a City that is pretty expensive. Walking distance to the BART if 1/2 mile seems doable. The service also was good, and the free full breakfast was a pleasant surprise since they call it continental breakfast. Pool too if you want it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#6 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Property: Berkeley City Club
Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkeley City Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by architect Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing