We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berkeley City Club
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Berkeley Rodeway Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
$186
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downtown Berkeley Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
112
90
49
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
90
49
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshearst castlejulia morganarchitectural gemtwo floorsstep back in timeindoor poolguest rooms areserved in a lovely dining roommorning swimsan simeoncontinental breakfastcharming historic hotelpeet's coffeegorgeous buildingswimming lapsrooms are smallfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 283 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Family and friends all booked rooms at the lovely Berkeley City Club, where my niece's wedding reception took place. What a beautiful, historic gem! Room rates at The City Club are reasonable, with a civilized breakfast included. This is an elegant little piece of history, designed by the first female architect in California, Julia Morgan. The structure is very well-kept and polished. Some of the guest rooms are a bit small, but comfy. No air conditioning, but plenty of open-out windows, doors and courtyards. This is definitely not the Marriott, but in a good way!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quewhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband spent our first night here of a two night get away. We got a great deal using Groupon for a queen bed room. Plan to spend some time exploring and taking in the architecture and gardens of this property - they are amazing. Bring your swimsuit and don't miss out on a chance to swim in their beautiful indoor pool - women need a swim cap and you can get one at front desk if you forget. Bed was really comfortable; however opening windows for fresh air posed a little bit of a noise problem - it didn't keep us from falling asleep and the city does seem to quiet down eventually. Location is nice for being able to walk to dinner or even a movie. They do have wi-fi - just not in the rooms. Also no TV's in room - we didn't miss the TV. Breakfast in the morning was very good - lots of choices.

Room Tip: When booking a room ask for an area that would be quiet if windows were opened. Plan to use the pool - it is really an amazing space - we spent 30 minutes swimming laps before heading to bed - very relaxing. On weekends parking on street in front of building is free - if you use their lot, negotiate the price ahead of time. We paid $12 instead of $20.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edgewood1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

An excellent value in a historic structure in downtown Berkeley, CA. Great views of the Golden Gate, terrific breakfast and good vibes.
martin rosen

Room Tip: 5tth floor, west side
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The architecture in the public areas is amazing. Go and see it; just have a meal or attend a play. The front door is locked, and you have to be buzzed in. We buzzed twice, but no one responded. Someone leaving the Club opened the door for us. The front desk person was busy with 2 other guests who were checking in, but they shouldn't ignore people waiting at the front door. In our room, the painted concrete floor was worn bare in front of the closet. The white painted toilet seat was worn to bare wood.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maureen024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I booked this hotel after getting a great deal on it and it worked out perfectly in terms of location as we arrived at SFO and were heading up to Sonoma for a wedding. We arrived at 2am due to delays at O'Hare and the car rental office, but were greeted by the friendly night deskman. Our room was cute and just fine for the two of us, I wouldn't pack many more people into it though. Lots of historical charm throughout the whole place and tea and coffee were available anytime. The next morning we went for a swim in the awesome 1930's tiled pool and had a very good hot buffet breakfast that was included. As our newlywed friends now live in Oakland, it is nice to have a place to go back to for a stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a view of the city
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosedanarosedana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews