We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
60
128
50
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
128
50
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkinghi expressnice hotelroom was cleanchoose this hotelbusiness centeruniversity avenuebooked roomsfree breakfastwithin walking distanceconvenient locationsan franciscositting areabusiness tripdesk staffbay bridgeup to date
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 262 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

I found the hotel staff to be very courteous and pro-active. It's conveniently located, with access to the freeways and public transportation. Nice restaurants and other businesses nearby. It has that neighborhood feel about it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bayouprophet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBerkeley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2016

Dear bayouprophet,

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your stay went well. We look forward to your next visit. Until then, thank you and care!

Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

For the money this is a great option. Area is not great but this hotel with a great large car park and free parking and breakfast is an oasis.......

Very handy to bridge into San Fran and Berkley next door. Oakland Airport not far either..... Polite attentive staff too.

Neat clean and good sized rooms. Smaller hotel so not so crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Clivecheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBerkeley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear Clivecheddar,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We look forward to your next visit. Until then, thank you and take care!

Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

This is a well kept very nice Hotel, perfect for those seeking to see the San Francisco area, just across the Bay Bridge. Rooms and service were all good.
But it is the Location, we also Love, so many wonderful places to eat of all kinds
in walking distance. Thai we love, BBQ, Foster Freeze, upscale eating Restaurants
close by, something for every budget. Close to the University Berkley and many
trendy places one would expect in a major College area.

We would want to stay here again, and again, Price, Location are great.

Please stay out of Oakland across the way, not a good place for travelers.
This area and the College area Berkley are wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritchie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBerkeley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Dear Ritchie H,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, San Francisco is a convenient 20 min drive or a Bart train away from our hotel. I am sure the Tripadvisor community will appreciate your suggestions for foods and attractions. We truly look forward to your next visit. Until then, Thank you and take care!

Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Very nice motel on University, so a straight shot to the campus on the public bus/and back after the big game. No complaints at all. Staff was very friendly and accommodating - esp Raj, Desiree and the others - with good answers to our many questions. Raj even let us check in early - not to the room - but with the key so when we arrived after a full day/late night in SF, we didn't have to stop at the desk to check in. Huge bonus. North Berkeley BART station is about 8 blocks, so very convenient to walk back down the hill but you can also park for $3/day if going into SF. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast had a great variety of choices to get your day going. Parking plentiful. Not sure the reviews about being in a shady neighborhood, it's right on University, so a busy street. The campus is up the hill with tons of fun shops and restaurants. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cooltreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBerkeley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Dear Cooltreats,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Whenever we get a request from a guest we try our best to fulfill their needs, In your case an early checkin. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!

Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

My family (2 adults with 2 kids) stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Berkeley over the

weekend. (Fri Sep 2nd through Sun Sep 4th).

Pros:
Microwaves in the room
Nice upgrade for IHG Spire Elite Members
Great location and the staff is friendly
(Mr Phun - Desiree - Raj are accomodating)
Free parking
Free breakfast is amazing

Cons:
None

Nice upgrade to a Mini Suite (Room 318) for being a IHG Spire Elite Member. We used our

60,000 IHG Points to stay for 2 nights.

My family travels frequently and are loyal to IHG properties. We have stayed with

Holiday Inn, The Stay Bridge.. etc. We have stayed 170 nights total for 2016 alone.

Highly recommend this hotel for visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBerkeley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear drmirage,

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear to that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!

Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews