We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Location was not too convenient (about 10-15 minute walk from BART train). Breakfast in the morning was great! Friendly staff. Very clean room. No complaints at alI! would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNationalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    112
    44
    13
    10
See reviews for
85
36
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked this hotel through a third party for 4 adults (paid for a room to accommodate 4 adults), but was put in a room with one king bed. The guy checking us in saw there was 4 of us upon check in, but gave us a one bed room. We were sent to the 3 floor with all of our luggage and when we saw the room we called down and asked for a room with two beds. We were told leave the room immediately and bring all of our stuff back down to the lobby. We went back down and was then told it would be an additonal $20 a night for a second bed. I showed him the paperwork that we had booked and paid for a room with two beds and was told "we do not have to honor third party bookings." He then said it would be $20 a night for a second bed - hotel policy. Great customer service - NOT!! I already paid for a room with 2 beds and now they want to up charge me for what I ALREADY PAID FOR!! We said fine and he gave us a room back on the third floor and we had to take all the luggage back up again. This went from bad to worse very fast. I called the third party I booked the hotel with and they are sending me a check for the $40 and gave me a $25 credit on my account and blocked this hotel from my account. I travel all the time and I have never been treated like this before. This hotel is subpar to begin with and then on purpose give 4 people a room for 2 so they can up charge, what a joke. Beware!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POOKINPORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear POOKINPORT,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. Please understand that bed types are not guaranteed at check-in as it will depend on what is available and occupancy level of the hotel and since you booked your reservation in a third party site the bed type you will received will depend on what is available. It does not happen all the time, I guess the hotel was busy at the time you've check-in that's why the bed type you reserved is no longer available. It a good thing that the third party site refunded and credited money in your account. Our staff members are only following the policy of the hotel. Nevertheless, thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I needed to be in Berkeley for a week and didn't want to hassle with traffic so I found this Holiday Inn Express located very conveniently near where I was to be for the week. The rooms were very nice, appears they hotel was recently remodeled. Front desk staff was friendly at check in and check out. Breakfast was included and each morning I found a some good hot coffee and a decent breakfast selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the elevators as possible, the drink vending machine is located by the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here recently when I was in the East Bay area for company training. Standard Holiday Inn Express, somewhere between a Motel 6 and Red Lion or Hilton-type hotel.

Pros -
-Hot free breakfast with better than average selection of entrees (omelets, biscuits and gravy, pancakes) was very much appreciated.
-Coffee and fridge in the room
-Free Wi-Fi in room was great and easy to log-into
-Bed was comfortable enough although no comforter for the bed, just a small, thin blanket. (Fortunately, it was warm when I stayed so not an issue)

Cons -
-No restaurant on site and the only ones nearby where a couple of fancier, ethnic eateries and a walk-up hamburger joint with sketchy characters out front. I didn't see the Trader Joe's!
-No shuttle service from airport

The hotel itself is not in the nicest or most pedestrian friendly neighborhood (busy arterial that is difficult to cross and not many people walking around at night). The BART station is a good twenty minute walk (which feels a hell of a lot longer with luggage) and I saw no taxis or public transportation to speak.

If you are visiting for UC Berkely and have a car to get around, this is probably a great, inexpensive place to stay. I would not recommend it for business travelers - there are places equally as nice or nicer, closer to the airport or Downtown SF or Oakland with better dining and transportation options nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear CJ51,

Thank you for your comments as we are constantly working on improving our product and am extremely disappointed that your stay was not up to your standards. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I choose this hotel over many other more hip places because it has local free parking, a free hot breakfast and the rooms are ample, quiet and clean with microwave, sink and refrigerator.

The rates are reasonable.

The hotel is close to Trader Joe's location on University. This makes for a great combination for in-room food or snacks.

Room Tip: Remeber to register for PriorityClub frequent guest program, if you are not yet one. This is always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrlesru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Okay - this hotel is not in the center of town - it's about a mile from Shattuck - closer to San Pablo, but it is so worth it! It was very quiet and the rooms were exceptionally clean (and I am very picky). The rooms also have refrigerators and microwave ovens. The beds were super comfy. The free parking and WIFI also added to the value. You won't find free parking at the more expensive and fancier places. Plus if you really want to get to the campus or center of town, there is good public transportation nearby! We didn't eat the free breakfast - with so many nice coffee shops and breakfast joints in Berkeley, why do a free breakfast unless you are really on a budget.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our New Year's Eve stay at this hotel on University Ave. - a place you would think would be very noisy and not as nice. The hotel is very nice and they have a great breakfast in the morning. The rooms were spacious enough for a smaller hotel. The parking was free and plentiful. The hotel is close enough to the university that you can get there by car or bus. I would highly recommend staying here during your next visit to Berkeley. The prices can't be beat either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rejsemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,282 reviews
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
336 reviews
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing