We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Berkeley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Holiday Inn's are usually nice, no matter where you stay, and this building is no exception. The parking lot is easily accessible, the front desk and lobby are nicely done, and the rooms are nice as well. There is nothing really outstanding about the hotel, but if you're looking for a nice comfortable place to stay than this is great.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might ask for a room that does not face University. Rooms that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 243 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

During a three week training in Berkley California, I had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Express on University Avenue. Like always I was not disappointed. The rooms were very clean, the staff was always accomodating and the hot breakfast is always nice in the morning. This is why i keep coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side if you do not want to hear the noise from University Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

had to go to Oakland last minute for a family event, and most hotels in emeryville (where I usually stay) were booked. This hotel was recommended and so I called and booked. It was nice. rooms looked to be recently renovated, and were clean and modern. morning breakfast was fine. there were bagels, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, and a variety of cereals. The hotel is located just off the intersection of San Pablo and University, so if you need to get around berkeley, or even down to rockridge section of oakland, it is very convenient. also very convenient to 80. it's not very far at all to the university and there are restaurants in the immediate area. didn't have time to walk around the area during the day so cannot speak to the neighborhood, but it is definitely a place i would stay again if the rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getwhatyoupayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is a long way from everything.
Hotel had no electricity the night of my arrival. No prior warning was given. There was a pre-prepared notice on check-in counter about works being done on electricity in area. They knew in advance but did not tell guests in advance.y request for a reduction in cost of room was met with indifference. So no TV, no gym, no AC, light by little flashlight .
Got the impression they just wanted the money. Of all the Holiday Inn I have used on 3 continents this is least favorite.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seancollins5o1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear seancollins5o1,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First trip to San Francisco, heard that the hotels were expensive in the downtown core, so we opted for Berkeley. It seemed a little far but doable, so long as you have a rental car.

I had to admit I thought the hotel was a little pricey, but after staying there I can understand why. We arrived in the middle of the week and the hotel was booked solid. We was lucky to get a room by booking online. The room was clean, it had no funny smells, and the shower had good water pressure. The TVs were all upgraded to flat screens, which was a nice perk. The beds were comfortable and I wanted to take the pillows home with me. You even have the option of soft or firm pillows which were marked. Breakfast was also included with the price of the room. It was one of the better breakfasts I have had in a hotel. There is the option of eggs, sausages, pancakes, danishes, toast, coffee, tea, etc. Definitely, worth the stay.

After the first night stay, I thought about staying longer but the hotel was booked solid and I had plans to drive up the coast.
Maybe, next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alee_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As part of business trip I stayed in Holiday Inn in Berkeley.
Later I extended the stay for vacation as well.
It was much cheaper than staying is SF, just 20 min from the SF city center.
The hotel is renovated, provides free WiFi and cable internet connection.
Free parking on site.
Free breakfast is great, especially the cinnamon rolls :-)
Evening reception was very helpful and nice.
Overall - nice place to stay, cheaper than San Francisco options.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK with respect to any noise. No problem with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FighterPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Berkely seems to have two kinds of hotels.....the totally over the top expensive & the dumpy, cheaper places! The Holiday Inn Express is kind of in the middle. It is nice, clean, good location and plenty of parking. The rooms are good sized and quiet, the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express fare, but it is free and there are plenty of choices. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,402 reviews
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $166 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing