We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No electricity , no customer relations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No electricity , no customer relations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is a long way from everything.
Hotel had no electricity the night of my arrival. No prior warning was given. There was a pre-prepared notice on check-in counter about works being done on electricity in area. They knew in advance but did not tell guests in advance.y request for a reduction in cost of room was met with indifference. So no TV, no gym, no AC, light by little flashlight .
Got the impression they just wanted the money. Of all the Holiday Inn I have used on 3 continents this is least favorite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seancollins5o1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear seancollins5o1,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    101
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
77
31
21
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First trip to San Francisco, heard that the hotels were expensive in the downtown core, so we opted for Berkeley. It seemed a little far but doable, so long as you have a rental car.

I had to admit I thought the hotel was a little pricey, but after staying there I can understand why. We arrived in the middle of the week and the hotel was booked solid. We was lucky to get a room by booking online. The room was clean, it had no funny smells, and the shower had good water pressure. The TVs were all upgraded to flat screens, which was a nice perk. The beds were comfortable and I wanted to take the pillows home with me. You even have the option of soft or firm pillows which were marked. Breakfast was also included with the price of the room. It was one of the better breakfasts I have had in a hotel. There is the option of eggs, sausages, pancakes, danishes, toast, coffee, tea, etc. Definitely, worth the stay.

After the first night stay, I thought about staying longer but the hotel was booked solid and I had plans to drive up the coast.
Maybe, next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alee_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As part of business trip I stayed in Holiday Inn in Berkeley.
Later I extended the stay for vacation as well.
It was much cheaper than staying is SF, just 20 min from the SF city center.
The hotel is renovated, provides free WiFi and cable internet connection.
Free parking on site.
Free breakfast is great, especially the cinnamon rolls :-)
Evening reception was very helpful and nice.
Overall - nice place to stay, cheaper than San Francisco options.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK with respect to any noise. No problem with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FighterPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Berkely seems to have two kinds of hotels.....the totally over the top expensive & the dumpy, cheaper places! The Holiday Inn Express is kind of in the middle. It is nice, clean, good location and plenty of parking. The rooms are good sized and quiet, the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express fare, but it is free and there are plenty of choices. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable, attentive staff. Elevator and luggage cart! Definitely a good value for the money in Berkley. We were a little concerned as we were driving toward the Inn, thinking it might not be the best of neighborhoods. But we realized that we were quite safe, as we parked in the enclosed lot. Breakfast was typical self-service, but nice. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'll be honest-- this was not my first choice for a hotel in the area, but my first few choices were booked. So I did my research, read nice things about this hotel, and decided to give it a try. It worked out, and most likely I will be back, my daughter being a first year Berkeley student. We (my family and I) arrived very late at night. "No problem" the manager said. I slept like a baby-- the beds were firm, but not too firm, and there were plenty of comfortable pillows. Our room was quiet. It was clean-- my understanding is that there was a renovation one or two years ago, and it shows. Our particular room was also designed to accommodate people with handicaps, the doorways to the room and bathroom being extra wide and the bathroom shower having a bench. We also enjoyed the free breakfast as hot items were offered and there was variety. This hotel is convenient to UC Berkeley and downtown. This is not a hotel where you go to be pampered, but if you want a comfortable stay with good service at a reasonable price that is close to the university and local attractions, definitely consider Holiday Inn Express Berkeley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youinmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hotel us clean and rooms are updated and spacious.

Their breakfast has issues though. Pancake machine didn't work the entire length of our stay (4 nights) and they stopped making cinnamon rolls an hour before breakfast ended. When I asked for more cinnamon rolls I was told no. Then I asked the front desk person and she made it happen.

Parking spaces are too small for a minivan.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbisaKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.8 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#9 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing