We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bet in Berkeley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good bet in Berkeley”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Berkely seems to have two kinds of hotels.....the totally over the top expensive & the dumpy, cheaper places! The Holiday Inn Express is kind of in the middle. It is nice, clean, good location and plenty of parking. The rooms are good sized and quiet, the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express fare, but it is free and there are plenty of choices. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    110
    44
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
36
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable, attentive staff. Elevator and luggage cart! Definitely a good value for the money in Berkley. We were a little concerned as we were driving toward the Inn, thinking it might not be the best of neighborhoods. But we realized that we were quite safe, as we parked in the enclosed lot. Breakfast was typical self-service, but nice. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'll be honest-- this was not my first choice for a hotel in the area, but my first few choices were booked. So I did my research, read nice things about this hotel, and decided to give it a try. It worked out, and most likely I will be back, my daughter being a first year Berkeley student. We (my family and I) arrived very late at night. "No problem" the manager said. I slept like a baby-- the beds were firm, but not too firm, and there were plenty of comfortable pillows. Our room was quiet. It was clean-- my understanding is that there was a renovation one or two years ago, and it shows. Our particular room was also designed to accommodate people with handicaps, the doorways to the room and bathroom being extra wide and the bathroom shower having a bench. We also enjoyed the free breakfast as hot items were offered and there was variety. This hotel is convenient to UC Berkeley and downtown. This is not a hotel where you go to be pampered, but if you want a comfortable stay with good service at a reasonable price that is close to the university and local attractions, definitely consider Holiday Inn Express Berkeley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youinmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hotel us clean and rooms are updated and spacious.

Their breakfast has issues though. Pancake machine didn't work the entire length of our stay (4 nights) and they stopped making cinnamon rolls an hour before breakfast ended. When I asked for more cinnamon rolls I was told no. Then I asked the front desk person and she made it happen.

Parking spaces are too small for a minivan.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbisaKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night, while visiting friend and alma mater. There is a lack of chain hotels in the region. This HIX offers relatively better convenience to the University and downtown Berkeley. AC Transit bus stop is located directly in front of the hotel and BART is only few blocks away. Received a welcome package with few snacks as a platinum member. Free breakfast was very "Holiday Inn Express"-style with very few and simple options. Walk towards Shattuck for better food options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xavierkuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very disappointed with the smoke coming into our room through the A/C vent. Lost my voice and had to train a roomful of people the next day!! Front Desk said "They need someplace to smoke!" I said "Over on the other side of the parking lot would be better than under the windows of a 100% non-smoking facility! Everything else was great! A shame the smoke had to detract from the rest of the amenities of the hotel...great breakfast, clean room, most of the staff very friendly and helpful...close to Bart access...good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose 106, 206 or 306 unless you want smoke in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night last week. It exceeded my expectations. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location was quiet despite being on a busy road. The complimentary breakfast was an unexpected plus.

The area around the hotel is not especially exciting but you are within walking distance of the university and the beautiful hills at one end, and the somewhat earthier but still interesting waterfront areas at the other end. I had no car and found walking around easy. There are many interesting and diverse restaurants around the area too.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing