We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
New York City
2 reviews
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly check in, clean room, air conditioner a bit too loud. Surrounding area is to watch out for. But ok for amount we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Jac288,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We will look into the air conditioning and we look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    107
    43
    12
    10
See reviews for
81
36
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been staying at this hotel periodically for a couple of years while visiting our son. The location is good and the hotel rooms are always clean, reasonably quiet and in very nice condition. There are less expensive places to stay but they have not been as quiet as this place. My only complaint is the price has gone up $50 per night in the past two years.

Room Tip: The end rooms on the upper stories on the University Ave. side facing west have a view of the Golden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amritsar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

this hotel is a great option if you want value for money for a hotel near sanfranciso. but u must have your own car and ready to pay few dollars of toll to enter sfo. the hotel staff was very courtious n hotel rooms were good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambaamandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This seems like a little older hotel than most of the Holiday Inn Expresses. Just a little tired outside but not bad. It is near the university and in a marginal part of town. It is the newest and nicest building for blocks in any direction. Parking is ample and the lobby and breakfast room are neat and clean. We found the room to be as expected with coffee maker, microwave and fridge. Everything seemed to work just fine. The TV actually seemed to be hi definition which is a first for me in a lower to medium priced hotel. We were a little worried about noise being so close to the school but had no problems at all. This hotel has easy access to I80 and I580. We found several chain restaurants just around the corner on San Pablo Ave. The breakfast was pretty normal for this hotel chain with very good cinnamon rolls, biscuits, gravy, bacon or sausage, juice, yogurt and plenty of coffee. They even had a machine that cooks pancakes for you. The only thing we found to complain about was that the "omelettes" were cooked as hard as a rock all three days we were there. Other than that it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room toward the back and away from the parking lot if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We (3 adult family members) were in Berkeley to visit a family member nearby. This hotel was affordable, clean and staff was courteous. The location seemed good to get to places. There were a few places nearby that we went to - a 99 cent store for snacks, a hamburger take out place, and a pizza place. We had family members pick us up and drop us off but there was free parking. You could walk to the BART, but we got a ride from family. The BART is a great way to get into San Francisco. There was a good continential breakfast. We had a room with 2 beds which was nice. We stayed here for 2 nights, then went to Santa Rosa for a night, came back here for a night. The last night we stayed near the airport for an early flight out. Free Wifi worked fine.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms and both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesotavacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Had a nice 3-night stay. Room and bathroom were spacious, clean, well decorated and quiet. Our room was at the end of the corridor on the 2nd floor and we had problems with the Wifi (this wasn't the case for our friends who had a room that was in the middle of the long corridor). Free breakfast was good. Service courteous. Neighborhood not the most charming, but convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Four stars seems like a lot for being in a somewhat unappealing neighborhood but the hotel is exactly the same as the other HIE's I have stayed in - clean, helpful staff in a convenient, if not charming neighborhood. The is quite a lot of train noise.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleTkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing