We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Yakatori Ever”
Review of Ippuku

Ippuku
Ranked #120 of 709 Restaurants in Berkeley
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Yakatori Ever”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great food and atmosphere....affordable or not. Items can be ordered ala carte and the sake is the best selection I have seen

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sonoma county
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Yakitori”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This Berkeley hot spot throws a different and interesting spin on Yakitori. Fortunately we were with our Japanese friends who did all the ordering, which was exciting because we were introduced to some amazing dishes! The menu is extensive, the service impeccable, and the Japanese style seating worth a visit. We had so much to eat, at least it felt like we did, because we kept getting all different types of yakitori preparations from chicken hearts to some sort of cheek meat. There is no sushi served here, but plenty of sake.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous Japanese Food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our party of four had too many dishes to remember but they were all wonderful. The sake selection was one of the best I've seen.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diana5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fun and Delicious”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a fabulous new find in downtown Berkeley. It has great ambiance, the service is fantastic and the food is unique. If you love saki, there is an amazing selection and they are very helpful in providing guidance navigating through the extensive list.

Everything we had was excellent. The Japanese cucumber with miso is a great started. The okra was amazing and I never knew I would use that adjective with okra. They have a great selection of vegetables. We loved the chicken yakitori with leeks and also the fried chicken, which can be addictive. They kept trying to have us order the chicken sashimi but we were not that as adventurous and had the albacore (I can handle raw fish more than chicken). I can't wait to go back and try some other dishes.

Make sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayeletb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was a lovely restaurant, albeit on the slightly expensive side. If you're unfamiliar with Japanese cusine, you will have to ask for help. Our waiter walked us through the entire menu and gave us many useful tips as to what dishes would work well together. The majority of the customers were Japanese, so I think that speaks for itself. We were even given a complimentary dish at the end of our meal. Plan to spend a couple of hours if you go there - not an in and out type of place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanford E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ippuku also viewed

 

Been to Ippuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing