We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Grossest Experience of My Life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grossest Experience of My Life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was staying at the Golden Bear Inn for a job interview the next day. Right when I walked into my room I found a box labeled “love cuffs” underneath my bed along with some make-up and goldfish. I don’t want to get into the images that were running through my head but it was a disturbing environment. I just needed a place to sleep, wake up, and walk to my daylong job-interview. I spoke to them prior to me checking in an they knew I would be gone all day. I found the trashy make-up that I threw away and eye liner on a counter top in my room. The TV channel was flipped to another station. I am 90% sure someone “used” my room when I was gone. The Golden Bear Inn experience isn’t one that I will EVER be having again.

Room Tip: I would never suggest this hotel for anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We welcome many interviewees, such as yourself, on a pretty regular basis. This is the first time we've had any issues with the stay and we apologize for the inconvenience. I can assure you that no one, outside of housekeeping, entered your room as no one had access besides you. Sometimes housekeeping will turn the television on and flip channels to make sure everything is working properly, which sounds like the case here.
Also, while working hard everyday, it is possible they missed something along the way. We're sorry for this and will be working with housekeeping to pay special close attention to detail.
Thanks again for your review, we take these and use them to better ourselves and our property.

Chris Koertge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    22
    9
    22
See reviews for
23
36
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We love staying at this little hotel. The first room we were given...107...was old with bad shower. We asked to be moved and were given #112 which was updated and very pleasant. The hotel is always clean and so convenient to exploring Berkeley and Oakland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an renovated shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausalito5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The staff checking me in and out of the motel were very nice. The room was on the end by a main street but it was big with two rooms and 4 beds so it was pretty quiet. The furniture is dated and old, the beds just okay, wifi not so good and the room I was in smelled of plumbing with hair and grime in it. (the bathroom was very dated) I sprayed room freshener and perfume in the room but the smell kept coming back. I told the staff as I left so may take care of the smell and other rooms might not have the smell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckoertge, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. I have shared your comments with my staff and will be working with them to help correct the issue. Attention to detail is something we aim to master and we will follow up with this to make sure it is rectified. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Koertge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

People here are very friendly and helpful. Especially, they are very trustful. I left my watch in the room when I checked out. Later I realized that I left it there. I contacted this motel and they were very honest and helpful in getting my watch back. Actually, it was my wedding watch so is very precious for me. In addition, the room is cozy and clean given the room is very cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktkim3705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Chris was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful at check in. Night staff also helpful. The exterior reminded me of the traditional motor courts with well-kept buildings and lovely decorative flowers and vines painted on the window frames. The room was simple but neat and clean. Refrig, microwave, decent bed, good sized shower. Clean, well-maintained. One-story, park in front of room.

The area is one of those mixed/in transition sections of the city. At first glance it's not too encouraging, but as we walked around getting from train station and looking for food (after dark), we noticed people walking dogs, cyclists, decently lit streets, well-kept homes and businesses. Found local restaurants and chains, good variety.

I forgot my stuff in refrigerator but when I called Chris he immediately said he would send my lunch bag and water bottle to me. He also helped us get from airport to inn by printing map & instructions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txgal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This motel appears to have been built in the 1920's by the tile in our bathroom. Our room was very very clean, brightly painted colorful walls, comfy bed, some nice decorations on the walls. But it was the towels that I loved. Softest ever! The room was small by today standards but clean. The courtyard is right out of the 1940-1950's. What was wrong? The thin walls. The person in the room had their TV on most of the time and we could hear it. He was watching Fox News! Then he snored all night. If you just need an inexpensive place to stay for a night or two this would be a good choice. However it is not within easy walking distance of just about anything.

Room Tip: There is what appears to be a new two story section that might be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night after flying into san Francisco before traveling on motel wasn't too bad but area looked and felt unsafe was glad only there to sleep before moving on.check in was easy and room had fridge microwave and coffee machine bed was comfy just a shame about the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaznicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built around 1946 with classic Spanish architecture in mind. The Golden Bear Inn remains a part of the Berkeley landscape and is a well renowned place for travelers from all over the globe. With its unique style and comfortable facilities the Golden Bear Inn has kept guests returning year after year. Check in starts at 2 PM and ends at Midnight. For special arrangements please call the Front Desk. Check out is at 12 Noon on the day of departure. All cancellations must be made 24 hours prior to the check-in date to avoid penalties. We appreciate your understanding and we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Berkeley
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing