We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americas Best Value Inn
Nearby Hotels
$177
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$168
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Berkeley Rodeway Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
$285
$162
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$169
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina Inn(Berkeley)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
26
46
29
13
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
46
29
13
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden bearnice place for the pricetowel rackwhole foodsquick driveparking lotrooms are cleanrestaurants and shopssan franciscofront desk staffbart stationoaklandcampus
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 144 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night after flying into san Francisco before traveling on motel wasn't too bad but area looked and felt unsafe was glad only there to sleep before moving on.check in was easy and room had fridge microwave and coffee machine bed was comfy just a shame about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaznicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a good value for Berkeley. We arrived very late -- almost 11:00 p.m. There was a sign on the office that said "closed." Dang, we hadn't made arrangements for this. But a smiling guy came to the door and greeted us warmly. We felt instantly welcome. We dragged our tired behinds into the room. We stocked the empty and clean mini-fridge and sought refuge on the bed. Says it's queen-sized but looks more like a double, which was okay. But the the mattress is a trhowback. It crinkles and squeaks and sounds like it's stuffed with newspaper. It even feels like that a little bit. But we lost consciousness anyway and found that the bed consistently offered a good night's sleep.

Now, temperature control is an issue. We were in Berzerkeley at the end of August. It was not terribly hot but it was warm - uppers 70s. The room was HOT. There is no AC. We noticed a fan on the wall in the corner of room. We turned it on low. It moved the warm air around and didn't help. We realized we needed to open the windows. The next day, when we returned to the room after walking around UC, the room was brutally hot. We put the fan on high and opened the windows and door. My wife estimates the noise level at 75 dbA. This procedure helped marginally. We were able to sleep soundly with the jet engine white noise.

The alarm clock was 48 minutes off - something we didn't notice in our arrival stupor. Easily remedied but weird. There is no stopper in the sink.

So, why do we give this place a three instead of a "run away!"? Well, it's clean. It was cheap on a Cal football weekend. And it's in this funky neighborhood with all these odd businesses. It's not an upscale neighborhood but we felt safe.

The room is of adequate size has lots of surfaces on which to place luggage and paraphernalia of travel and work out of it without putting anything on the floor. The microwave works - we used it to warm up the very good sweet potato pie from Everett & Jones. There is a "Murphy" ironing board. We didn't use it but enjoyed marveling at it. There are two directional lamps above the bed so you can read without blinding your sweetie.

Doncha hate it when you stand in the middle of a hotel with a dirty kleenex and think, where the heck is the wastebasket? Not here. There are two wastebaskets and they are not hidden.

The decor is dated and a little odd but pleasant. If you don't need to brag about the place you stayed and don't need to sleep in a cold room in the summer, this will work for your. Hey, it's adequate.

Room Tip: You might try a room that does not border on San Pablo.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidinCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are looking for a good place to crash for the night, this will work for you. We stayed here for 3 days while visiting SFO late aug and found it ok.
The room is spacious for SFO standards, but bathroom just has a shower cubicle no tub. The only real complaint we had was that the walls are very thin and the noise from outside work us up a couple of times each night. Also a dog in the next room kept barking every 10 mins in the afternoon and i just had a headache at the end of the day.

tip : No breakfast provided but you can head to La Misson for some awesome burritos and tacos.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in this motel with my family. We were on a two week vacation in Californina, and had stayed in several other hotels/motels during the trip.
Initial impressions of the motel were that the room was shabby and needed renovating urgently. The smell of urine outside the room did not create a good impression. However, the position was handy for Berkeley city centre.
The big problem came the next morning. The toilet was blocked and when I reported this to the reception, I was offered a plunger to clear the blockage. I was amazed. The attitude of the staff member was dismissive and rude. He said that the blockage could be cleared at 1.30 in the afternoon, but there were four of us needing to get ready for the day! He flippantly said well I can offer you the keys to my apartment!
We checked out immediately and will not return to this motel. It was not cheap ($120 for room/night), and the guy on the reception was just plain rude. I thought customer service was supposed to be good in the US...

Room Tip: Don't chose this motel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for many years. Its always been a great place to stay. Its convenient, fairly central to most things in Berkeley (most have a car to get to Shattuck Ave locations).

Anyways, prices are always reasonable, way below the rest of the hotels on University Ave. And its always sold out at the end of every night. so that's a good sign, right?!

Plan ahead, make a reservation. You should be happy. And in the morning, Leila's cafe is two blocks away (easy walking distance) and is a great place to start your day.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insaneroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews