We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFFORDABLE (FOR BERKELEY), CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, CONVENIENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“AFFORDABLE (FOR BERKELEY), CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, CONVENIENT”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

PROs
Total for Queen rooms $85 incl. tax etc.
Rooms are clean with newish microwave/refrigerator.
Beds comfortable with good reading lights.
Table/chairs for computer work or snacks.
Day and night mgrs always helpful and accomodating.
Almost all rooms on ground floor if stairs are a problem.
Good and moderately priced Japanese restaurant on premises.
Convenient on/off tfreeways to SF/Oakland/Marin
Berkeley BART station 8 blocks away.
Nearby Solano Avenue is an EastBay restaurant ghetto
Convenient parking.
Will arrange cots or Queen+single for children

CONs
No breakfast but several restaurants nearby.
Rooms have a 1960s decor but everything works.
Smokers sometimes have too loud conversations near rooms.
Good reading lights but one went out and was not fixed for 2 days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if stairs are a problem. Also get a room not on San Pablo Ave th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    23
    9
    24
See reviews for
25
39
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego. Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Golden Bear Inn also known as Americas Best Value Inn is located in Berkely, Ca. not far off the major freeway 880. The facility is a motel and I must say I have travelled a lot with my music so I encounter a lot of motels, hotels. The Golden Bear Inn is from the 60's! Of course it's been updated and the front desk hosts are AMAZING. The most accommodating staff!! Full of smiles and HELPFUL. The rooms are CLEAN, simple and the pillows OMGOODNESS, the most comfortable pillows I have ever experienced and I am picky when it comes to the pillow!! Each room has a small icebox which is nice for juices, soda's, leftover's from the multitude of delightful
restaurant's in the area! There is also a micro-wave in each room and the housekeeping staff - these ladies are so gosh darn sweet and helpful! There is plenty of parking within the hotel which is great so no need to worry about parking on the street. As you pull in the hotel is in a horseshoe style parking lot. PLENTY of ROOM even if booked full! The Golden Bear Inn is often sold out on the weekends I noticed. I stayed for 1 week and by Friday night at 6pm - the SOLD OUT sign was up! They accept Triple A for a discount! This is not the Ritz, as a friend described
The Golden Bear Inn "It reminds me of a country inn in the city". I did not see a room with a bath tub so you might want to check on this PRIOR to booking your room. The shower stalls are
small but the water is nice and HOT. On a scale of 1 - 10 I would give The Golden Bear Inn a 8+.
It's simple, affordable, centrally located and down home hospitality!!

Room Tip: Book in ADVANCE of a weekend! No A/C but there is fans that have a strong wind factor!! Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikii D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this Inn for our visit to SFO & Berkeley last month. We booked this room through PriceLine and I can't really complain that I got a Queen Bed as I normally prefer a King bed. The price was ok.. Rooms were clean and decent. TV was fine as well as the wi-fi. Only issue was probably there was no Air Conditioning (or may be I couldn't find the switch) though there was separate heating unit and a small fan which was adequate for the cool weather. Guy on front desk was quite cheerful. Nothing specific to complain of and nothing special to boast about, but thats what I would look for while getting a property in SFO area for $75 a night. If I would have paid same amount in a cheaper city I might look for a hotel but not in SFO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our family of 5 was booked for a suite with 1 Queen and 3 Twins, but that was overbooked so they gave us one room with 2 queens and the "cottage" for the same price. The "cottage" is a small house adjacent to the motel with 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, a full kitchen and a living room. 3 TVs. Very good wifi. I don't know what this space normally rents for, but it was very nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was like a well-maintained southwestern Route 66 motel, right in the heart of Berkeley. Great prices, friendly/helpful staff, cute rooms and building - we loved it and would live there if we could.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here because the hotel was close to where I was going. The hotel is dated but very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly. The internet reminded me of the old dial up but I was able to get my emails. Overall I would recommend this hotel. The sushi restaurant next door was OK also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

stayed two nights,it was easy to find and was clean and comfortable.The bed was really comfortable after a 11+ hour flight and sleeping off jet lag.I would stay here again,ok its a bit dated but we felt welcome there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,262 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.2 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#17 of 20 in Berkeley
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1318
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built around 1946 with classic Spanish architecture in mind. The Golden Bear Inn remains a part of the Berkeley landscape and is a well renowned place for travelers from all over the globe. With its unique style and comfortable facilities the Golden Bear Inn has kept guests returning year after year. Check in starts at 2 PM and ends at Midnight. For special arrangements please call the Front Desk. Check out is at 12 Noon on the day of departure. All cancellations must be made 24 hours prior to the check-in date to avoid penalties. We appreciate your understanding and we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Berkeley
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing