We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Positively surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Positively surprised”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here because the hotel was close to where I was going. The hotel is dated but very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly. The internet reminded me of the old dial up but I was able to get my emails. Overall I would recommend this hotel. The sushi restaurant next door was OK also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    23
    9
    23
See reviews for
24
37
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

stayed two nights,it was easy to find and was clean and comfortable.The bed was really comfortable after a 11+ hour flight and sleeping off jet lag.I would stay here again,ok its a bit dated but we felt welcome there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Loved it here. Will stay again. Room 141. It's like an apt. Clean and cute. Great location. Great price for a busy concert night. Fun lights on at night. Free wi fi. Will stay here again for sure. Thanks for a nice night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacksplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here with our two children the night between seeing two S.F. Giants games. The property is vintage and has been in the area since the 1940s. It has a quaint, Spanish-style charm that our whole family loved. The staff (Chris at the front desk) was friendly, helpful, and accommodating (able to get us into our room almost 2 hrs early!). He shared ideas for things to do in the area as well as wonderful places to eat (Go to Acme Bakery across the street and 900 Grayson - delish!). We were within a few minutes of the freeway (I-80) and less than a mile from the North Berkeley BART station (approx 30-40 min ride into S.F.).
The property was quiet. We had a 2 queen bed room. While our room (130 under the stairs) was specifically mentioned in another review, we didn't have any of the issues they did. I was leery when given the room key b/c I had been on here reading reviews, but we didn't hear any neighbors or street noise. Beds were comfy and we all slept well. Our room was very clean (and I was looking for dirt, but couldn't find obvious examples of it), but was faintly musty when first entering. You will see chips in the tile and the towel bar was wobbly, but so is mine at home. WiFi was available in our room (I didn't have my laptop with me to try it out, however) and my husband appreciated the full size coffee pot. While aspects of the property could use updating (carpet most noticeably), we found the vintage fixtures, tile, etc. charming.
My kids thought the place was great! We'll absolutely go back! It's a great deal for a place to sleep while you explore Berkeley and/or San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorValCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's a little trip back in time as the bathroom had all the original tile dating from the 1960s or 1970s..I can't remember, but quaint. Was clean and pretty quiet. Right across the street from a fabulous bakery so I was happy.

Room Tip: It's a good home base when you have calls to make in the East Bay area and your main interest is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadow9301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed three nights recently, just so we could be near our friends, that live around the corner. The hotel is styled in classic old California motel, which actually is pretty cool. The rooms are nothing special, but have all the basics. I know some have complained of rock hard beds, but ours was rather soft and we slept just fine. The main draw back for us was that it's a pet friendly hotel (which normally I don't mind), but there were two dogs in the rooms on either side of us. For the most part they were quiet during the night, but an afternoon nap was out of the question. The hotel didn't look busy, so why didn't they put the people traveling without pets, away from the rooms who have them (especially putting us in the middle of four dogs...seriously?)!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank vandertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed approx 15 days there in Aug 2010. 3 stars for the comfort level - just about OK . A quiet place with comfy rooms but no breakfast arrangement . 5 stars for the extremely helpful staff there . Overall a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.2 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#13 of 20 in Berkeley
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built around 1946 with classic Spanish architecture in mind. The Golden Bear Inn remains a part of the Berkeley landscape and is a well renowned place for travelers from all over the globe. With its unique style and comfortable facilities the Golden Bear Inn has kept guests returning year after year. Check in starts at 2 PM and ends at Midnight. For special arrangements please call the Front Desk. Check out is at 12 Noon on the day of departure. All cancellations must be made 24 hours prior to the check-in date to avoid penalties. We appreciate your understanding and we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Berkeley
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing