We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of BEC's Bar and Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BEC's Bar and Bistro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shattuck Ave. & Bancroft
Transit: We are two blocks south of the Down Town Berkeley Bart Station.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Little bit dissapointing food choice. Burgers are decent, but their specials are nothing special.
Had a paella which was in fact couple of sea food on top of rice.

Good enough but would surely not give a high recommendation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Met friends from New Zealand for a meal- too bad Angeline's had a wait of over an hour, so we came here. All 10 of us were disappointed. It took over an hour for 1 order of Fish & Chips!! Pacing of food prep and service was the worst we'd experienced, ever!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawk4sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Reyes Station, California
2 reviews
“Buena Vista Social Slub surround sound...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Started with the Fried Calamari fried light and not overcooked. The Chipolte dipping yummy! Had a Margarita with the appitizers and it was a good match.

Dinner client had the 1/2 roasted chicken and I had the flat iron steak. Both were good but not the best I have ever had. We paired it with a bottle of Malbec.

But this was a Thursday and the place was jumping and salsa dancing as it is Latin Night. The band was playing Buena Vista Social Club cover songs.

Good Atmosphere but loud with students and locals.

Dinner

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mecoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We went on a Tuesday night and the place was full but not packed. The cottage pie (aka shepherd's pie) was the standard Irish pub; still good. The atmosphere was lively yet not loud. I'd recommend it for a small group or just two for a casual dinner.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westernkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed after recommendations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We were in San Francisco and Berkeley for 5 days on vacation. This was the only negative experience we had out of all the meals and drinks (there were many) on vacation. We tailgated with friends for the Cal game then stopped in here for dinner and drinks based on a few recommendations. Our waitress seemed annoyed from the beginning. The one Irish Coffee we ordered had stale cream in it. But the waitress was nowhere to be found. The drink orders were wrong. And when we received the bill it was way more expensive than we expected for two rounds of drinks, chicken wings and a burger. Skip it.

Helpful?
1 Thank PghJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BEC's Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing