We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For carousel lovers!”

Tilden Regional Park
Ranked #1 of 84 things to do in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tilden is one of Berkeley's oldest and most popular parks that offers a variety of family-fun activities like pony rides and carousels.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“For carousel lovers!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The wonderful carousel at Tilden has a century-old history, from being a traveling merry-go-round that moved from town to town, to the 'permanent' carousel that originally sat at Silver Springs section of Griffith Park in Los Angeles, to being the 'permanent' carousel in San Diego,

Sold by the original family who had it built, the carousel was later bought back when the family finally decided to make the merry-go-round 'settle down' in the hills of Berkeley.

Originally a three- lane carousel, this wonderful machine had a fourth lane added between one of its several moves. This lovely mostly-original merry-go-round has 53 animals (horses, a boar, a tiger, a lion, a chicken and a rooster, a pelican, and a gryphonish sea horse, as well as a spinning cup, a rocking boat and two chariots with benches and three child-size horses to keep the little ones from fear-induced panic attacks.

When we were last there, one tiny blonde fairie-girl was in tears at being placed atop what must have seemed to her a monster horse - the music was loud and the bright colors and blazing lights had knocked her right out of her comfort zone. But, like many children first encountering a carousel, by the time the ride was 1/3 over, she was smiling and looking about in wonder, finally able to enjoy herself.

The carousel has a nice sunny lawn around half its space with the parking lot on the other half, and families often come there to picnic.

Tilden also has other attractions, including great hiking trails, a child-scale steam train, Lake Anza, botanic gardens,gorgeous vistas, and wonderful picnic areas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bazi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    106
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always lots to do at Tilden!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We always love to visit Tilden Park when we are in Berkeley! With the trails, the miniature steam train, the historic carousel, the botanic gardens, the "little farm" and Lake Anza, you could spend many fun days there! Kids will love it, but there are things for every age to enjoy. And the "attractions" that have a fee are quite affordable.
See the website to see all the options, and be sure to check hours of operation for each!
ebparks.org/parks/tilden.htm

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Killer views from Nimitz Way and skyline trail”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Drive Wildcat Canyon Road to Inspiration Point and then take the Nimitz Way (skyline) trail. As EBRP says, Nimitz Way is paved and wheelchair accessible, is popular with hikers, bicyclists, and equestrians, and affords spectacular views from the crest of the East Bay hills. The best parking for this trail is at Inspiration Point on Wildcat Canyon Road. Please note there is no drinking water at this parking area, and dogs must be on a leash on Nimitz way. The East Bay Skyline National Recreation Trail follows Nimitz Way and other Tilden trails during part of its 31-mile route.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hike and scenery”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was the best weather and so our hike was full of green trees and flowers. Lots of other folks walking too. Had a romantic picnic under a tree.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris435805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip for Young Families”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

There are lots of picnicking and hiking areas with clearly marked signs, but my visit was to take my 4 year-old niece out for the afternoon. We only had about 2 hours, so we had to limit our visit to just 2 sites. First, we went to the Steam Trains and rode the train around the loop twice. After that, we went to ride the Merry-Go-Round. It's just a short drive between the 2 destinations. I loved watching how much my niece enjoyed the rides. Very inexpensive (I don't remember how much it cost, but it was reasonable.) They have drinks and snacks for sale here. After that, I wanted to take her to the animal farm, but we were too rushed. We'll be going there again with hopefully more time next time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelhoundElCerrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilden Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Tilden Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing