We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Serene, inspiring retreat in the heart of Berkeley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Berkeley Cottage

North Berkeley Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Berkeley Cottage
Ranked #1 of 8 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Anchorage, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene, inspiring retreat in the heart of Berkeley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

For over six years, I have made a week-long stay at the cottage part of an annual pilgrimage to Berkeley for a yoga workshop. Each year, approaching the cottage along the meandering garden path brings a sense of wonder and delight at the layers of green foliage, fiery blooms, and hovering hummingbirds. The cottage is and feels completely private; there are also two quiet, intimate places to sit in the garden. The cottage has a huge bathtub, great shower, large windows, and the kitchen is, as others have said, well-appointed. Convenience to a variety of wonderful food and wine shops, along with great restaurants, make the location alone a big draw. But this gem of a retreat is worth a trip on its own. The hosts have a perfect sense of friendliness and helpfulness without ever seeming to hover; each interaction I have had with them has been delightful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atdg588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is just a lovely place to stay. Quiet, incredibly convenient, and very pretty. The garden is a delight, the cottage is very clean and well appointed, and the kitchen very well equipped, and a very nice place to cook and enjoy a glass of wine. The sleeping arrangements are both comfortable and flexible. I have stayed here several times, both alone and with my young adult daughter. My only regrets are that it is not always available when I visit, and that I always eat too many of the good things that are so nearby in Gourmet Ghetto!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migratoryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

We were lucky enough to find this gem 10 years ago when our son moved to Berkeley, and have been thoroughly delighted to be able to return almost every year since. We really do feel we've come "home" again every time we stay. The other reviewers are all right about the details: a really comfortable, well equipped cottage, set back behind this gorgeous garden behind the main house on a residential street, but so close to such wonderful attractions -- within two blocks for the restaurants and shops of the "Gourmet Ghetto", and within BART and driving distance of the whole Bay area. Reg and Pat are delightful folks who are happy to provide any information you need - we look forward to seeing them on every visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larmarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We have stayed at North Berkeley Bed and Breakfast over a dozen times-- sometimes for a month at a time. For us, it is another home. It is comfortable and pretty. You feel that you are in your own little garden paradise. It is quiet and private, but at the same time close to Berkeley's best eateries and shops, most especially the Cheese Board Collective just up the block, a great book store and clothing shops.
We don't have a car, and find the walking distances to BART and other locations not onerous.
The price is right too, compared to other, less interesting places to stay.
It's fun to be in a house rather than a hotel or motel room, where you have to go out to eat all the time. It's fun go to the Berkeley Rep, and the green market and the beautiful parks. And especially, for us, it is safe and informal and a perfect place for our little granddaughter to visit, equipped with children's books and games.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camusNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

I could not have had a more delightful time anywhere else, this oasis is a little piece of shangri-la. The accomodations are located in a separate cottage house which was not only clean and well-maintained, but also had cheerful little touches throughout, which made me feel very at-home. The proprietors are absolutely lovely people. Great kitchen, living room, bedroom & bathroom. The location is in extremely close proximity to everything, including BART system; everything is within walking distance. I can't recommend this place highly enough. It was very quiet and peaceful, and frankly, I haven't slept that well in a long time. I'll be back in June, and I'm really looking forward to it!

AS

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank ASNYC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

My wife and I have stayed with Reg and Pat at the North Berkeley B&B for at least the last 7 years. We can't recommend it enough. After having visited the Bay Area annually for many years, this is by far our favorite location to stay.

The location is perfect, just outside the main drag of Berkeley and Telegraph Avenue, but within walking distance to many restaurants and shops on Shattuck, (including Chez Panisse). It's easily accessible from the highway and it's an easy connection for trips to San Francisco or Oakland. Although, if you're like my wife and I you'll find yourself not wanting to leave!

The cottage itself is immaculate, with an eat-in kitchen, a quiet small bedroom and very comfortable living room with a fold-out couch. There's a beautiful small deck accessible from the kitchen and the cottage resides in a lovely garden, with hummingbirds and citrus trees. In addition, Reg and Pat are great people. You know they're available if needed, but otherwise they respect your privacy and leave you to your own devices.

HIGHLY recommended...

  • Liked — The cottage itself and the location.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cambridgite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

Great place to stay, a classic Berkeley cottage in the most relaxing garden. Full kitchen, the management leaves you alone and it's also very quiet. I would bring my own speakers for music, since there is real stereo. TV is cable. Ample room for guests to come by and hang out. Nice little porch. We stayed with our 2 year old and he loved the garden and the whole set up.

The full monty in terms of Berkeley since you are one block from the Gourmet Ghetto and on a bike boulevard. Don't forget your Birkenstocks!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.9 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Berkeley Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Berkeley Cottage

Property: North Berkeley Cottage
Address: 1517 MIlvia St. Between Cedar & Vine, Berkeley, CA 94709
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
North Berkeley Bed And Breakfast Cottage
North Berkeley Bed & Breakfast Cottage Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing