We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignored, then dismissed”
Review of Cafe M

Cafe M
Ranked #31 of 707 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Federal Way, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ignored, then dismissed”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Looked promising on a sunny Thursday afternoon while in town visiting colleges with daughters. 1) Lead Waitress (who was training a new hire) was so very lacking in warmth and energy (small issue), 2) didn't ask how burger doneness preference or salad dressing, 3) Waited over 30 minutes for food after order, 4) When commented about wait, Lead Waitress returned to table and stiffly announced "According to your ticket you only waited 21 minutes" (that was reassuring - we only ordered a burger, soup & salad, and two crepes.) 5) when I pointed out my French onion had black burnt spots on it, the manager came over and assured me "that's how we make it here". When I pointed out that my daughter's soup was not burnt, he commented "that one is not done enough" (I should send it back then, I wondered). Overall, the food was mediocre, the service varied between neglectful and rude. We enjoyed many meals at a variety of eateries during our week in the Bay area. We often referred to tripadvisor. This was our only (huge) disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everything cooked to perfection”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

When in Berkeley don't miss the chance to have a perfect breakfast or lunch at Cafe M. We often shop on Fourth Street in Berkeley and look forward to having our lunch at Cafe M. The service is wonderful as has been everything we have ordered from egg scrambles to super sandwiches.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty brunch and plentiful mimosas!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I visit this place with my best friend whenever I'm in the Bay Area. The shops around this place are fun to browse in (you might need something to do, as there's often a waitlist on weekend mornings). They have savory and sweet dishes, standard brunch fare with a twist, and don't skimp on the champagne in their mimosas. The waitstaff is young and entertaining.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had to wait a while to get seated, but once we did our waitress was nice, and our food was good. My wife and I both enjoyed the food. Parking anywhere in that area is a challenge. The fresh squeezed OJ is very good. They have some unique menu items.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank PaintedCanvas1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent for Breakfast or Lunch”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Worth your time & money. The menu choices are wonderful. I can't tell which is my favorite...I've had several items and have never been dissapointed. The crepes rock, the Cinnnamon Twist Stuffed French toast, the Reuben sandwich...you name your favorite comfort food dish and Cafe M has their own twist on it. The prices aren't out of control either. If you're ever walking around 4th street in Berkeley, don't stand in the 3 hour Bette's Diner line, walk around the corner to Cafe M.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KoloheSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe M also viewed

 

Been to Cafe M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing