We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Reggae(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundance Resort(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Sandals Montego Bay(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Half Moon(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (6,509)
Filter reviews
6,509 results
Traveler rating
1,923
2,272
1,377
557
380
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,923
2,272
1,377
557
380
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickenmontego bayswim up barasian restaurantevery other daymichael jackson showentertainment staffjerk hutbuffet styleclose to the airportrose hallmini barmain buffetpaddle boatsfood was greatplanes flyingdunns river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,884 - 5,889 of 6,509 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2009

4th Riu that I have stayed at.
Feb. 1- 11 2009
Don't listen to bad reviews it was wonderful.
4 Couples ages 43-60 everyone loved the resort.
Pools were great, swim up bar terrific. Rooms beautiful. Beach well it looked nice from a distance but too merky for me but I am partial to baby blue clear water..... But if you take the paddle/kayaks out towards the Sandals island there is a beautiful pool of clear water we did get out and swim in. Food was out of this world gained 8 lbs and worked out every morning. Drinks were good too....... Ate at all a la carte restaurants and they were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bettiboop33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Visited this resort Feb. 8-13.
Nice place, still some growing issues.
Location: Good, short trip to/from airport. Breezy at times but since it's on the islands windward side, you should expect this. Low flying aircraft not that big of a deal.
Check in/out: Routine, our room was ready when we arrived in the early afternoon.
Staffing: Friendly and curtious. Ready to help if you ask.
Food: Very good. Buffets have large selection of entrees and plenty of seating.
Speciality Resturants: Difficult to get a 7pm reservation. All five nights we visited...not available at any of the three.
Pool & Beach: Very nice, 2 pools large with lots of room to avoid crowding. Beach good with enough room for all. Both locations had plenty of pool/beach chairs.
If you are a down-to-earth person and can overlook some minor issues, you'll love this place. If things like type of booze, small cups, walking a bit, and non-professional entertainment bother you, you'll need to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StatmanMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

After reading many of the reviews for this resort, we were somewhat worried about the trip although it was a gift at no cost to us. But, after getting there, we found nothing to complain about too much. I will cover some of the major complaints in other reviews we read and compare it to what we found...

Complaint: Planes flying over are too loud.
Our opinion: There are about 15-20 flights a day coming over and they are loud. But, after the first day, you really did not notice them too much. I grew up next to an airforce base so jet noise is nothing new.

Complaint: Hotel staff is rude or nonresponsive,
Ouir opinion: We received immediate answers to the few issues we had. The staff was always friendly and the bartenders took good care of us (especially after slipping them a dollar or two). The lady at the money exchange counter did seem like we were putting her out but one person does not spoil the whole trip. When we called fro additional beverages in the rooms, we received themw ithin 15 minutes usually.

Complaint: Food is horrible.
Our opinion: Food was plentiful and very good for our trip. There was an assortment of dishes at the buffets including all types of pastries, breads, and American dishes. The oriental restaurant was average (better Chinese buffets in states) but the buffets were good overall. There was always lots of fruit and so many different dishes you could not try them all. I believe some people forget that these people are Jamaicans trying to cook American food with our spices and seasonings. If they came to the States, they would be disgusted by our attempt at cooking Jerk and curry. The food was not as seasoned as it would be in the States but they are tring to cook for 1,000 people and not one or two specifically which is important to remember as well.

Complaint: The beach is terrible.
Our opinion: We live in Panama City Beach, FL... is doesnt get better than our beaches here. But, the beach itself was not that bad. The water was cold to us so we did not get in much and the bottom is mushy but I think this will correct itself after the resort has been open awhile and more people use the water. Sandals next door had a better bottom behind their resort but it has been open awhile. There were plenty of activities and we had some stellar volleyball matched during our stay. The businessmen (pot dealers) on thebeach were not too intrusive and they stayed to one end of the beach for the most part.

Complaint: Alchohol was cheap.
Our opinion: Who cares, there was plenty of it. The minis in the rooms were well stocked with Red Stripe which is not cheap. The drinks at the bar were mostly fruity drinks for us and it would not have mattered how good the rum was, we couldn't taste it over the fruit. Great bars and bartenders. One cannot expect Patrone or Grey Goose at the price of this place.

All in all, out trip was excellent with no real complaints. The taxi rides fromt he resort were a little pricey and we found that when the drivers take you shopping, they take you to the stores where the owners give them kickbacks. As it turns out, the Jamaican owned stores do not offer thse kickbacks but the Indian (Middle Eastern) owned stores must because that is where our driver kept taking us. We would walk in the store he delivered us to for a minute and then go to the Jamaican owned stores to buy. I can buy from the Middle-Easterners on any corner in the States.

If you want a taste of authentic fare, go to Scotchies. It is a jerk restaurant about two miles east of the resort and it is excellent. No dining room or waiters... you pick up the food at a window and sit at picnic tables and it is very good.

While there, we took the Zip Line tour and it was a blast. It was by far the coolest thing we have done recently. Many people are frightened about being on a wire 200 feet above the ground sliding along but it was mild compared to the bus ride up the mountain from the resort. These people drive on roads so tight that as cars approach each other, there may not be but six inches to a foot between them when they apss at 35 mph. Unbelievable. And the whole time, our bus driver is looking in the mirror at us on the bus instead of watching the road... it just takes some getting used to. There is nothing like having to stop so the goats can wander out of the road so you can pass.

All in all, an excellent trip and loved the place.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Noleball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

February 15, 2009
This trip was absolutely fantastic. I went with two friends and we had a great time. I cannot believe the complaints in the reviews that I read before I left. Some people will complain about anything and everything and nothing would be able to please them. Our room was ready when we arrived and even if we would have had to wait the atmosphere was so pleasing that we would have gladly waited with drink in hand. The rooms were clean, bar topped daily, bartenders fantastic, and the shows were the best I have seen. These Jamaican people are the friendliest people I have come across. They are hardworking and are constantly making sure that everything is okay. Loved the Bartenders, they are always friendly even if not tipped each time, they still give you the good drinks. The games they play on the beach and around the pool had me in stitches. Even before the nightly show begins they have people from the audience on stage involved in more antics, absolutely hilarious. Dunns River Falls is a must, great experience and you can purchase a video of the climb. Loved it. The resort is clean, foods great and I cannot say enough about the friendly, hard working people. To me it is a 5 star and I would go back in a flash and I wil be recommending this hotel to anyone that I can.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank northbaypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Our family just had a fabulous week at this great hotel. The staff was wonderful, property was clean and food was good. I can't say enough about the entertainment and bar staff. Every need was accomodated. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dcarConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews