We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
$244
$217
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
$459
$427
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$499
$434
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$1,584
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
$426
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Montego Bay(Montego Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (6,574)
Filter reviews
6,574 results
Traveler rating
1,949
2,290
1,383
563
389
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,949
2,290
1,383
563
389
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickenmontego bayswim up barasian restaurantevery other daymichael jackson showentertainment staffjerk hutbuffet styleclose to the airportrose hallmini barmain buffetpaddle boatsfood was greatplanes flyingdunns river
Filter
Updating list...
3,151 - 3,156 of 6,574 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Cleanliness was great. Sum problems with rooms at first (sunwing) and bar fridge.didn't work throughout vacation. A/c didn't work when got there. Location: beach is nice (better and more clear in Negril) and planes overhead is consistant and very loud. Riu fixed room problems and upgrades us to ocean front view which was nice. Prolly more a 4 star buffet food wise
Very nice people. I recommended using trustworthy shuttle we used was Island Jam tours.best people.best shuttle!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

First off - we just got back to Canada yesterday following our one week vacation at RIU Montego Bay. It was exceptional.

secondly - tip the people at the resort. It helps them and they remember EVERYONE - one good tip at the start of the trip will last you the whole time! If you are too cheap to throw a dollar here and there every day then you're probably the same type of person to complain about everything, so I am sorry for you.

Now - a breakdown of the resort

Rooms - clean, updated, air-conditioned and the ladies will leave neat swans and hearts made of towels on your bed (remember the tip thing?)

Service - the people who work at the resort seem like family by the end of the trip. They really are whole heartily there to make your vacation fun and one to remember. They will remember your name and ask you about your day and throw positive energy at you whenever they interact with you, it is sooooo nice to see!

Food - you will NOT go hungry at this resort! Nor will you get sick of the selection! I have been at other resorts where by day 3 you are dreading going for breakfast due to lack of selection! not the case there have a HUGE buffet and offer new daily selections! Food was delicious!

Excursions - if your not comfortable paying mega $$ through your vacation company - go talk to the guys operating the kayaks/paddleboats - they will send you on an EPIC excursion snorkling/margaritaville for cheap cheap - also there are a few tours the resort offers that are the same as your travel agents but WAY less money

lastly - I would like to commend the entertainment staff at RIU - they work alllllll day in the sun at the pool playing games with the guests and well, entertaining.... then at night, every night ... put on a HUGE production for the guests. They are so hard working! their dancing is exceptional.. its unreal what these ladies and gents can do! fire dancing and choreographed dance battles! they are defiantly in league of their own as far as resort entertainment goes!

So, would I recommend this resort? yes

some downfalls of the resort - the beach is just OK..Its not crystal clear water like other places on the island. I'm not huge ocean swimmer so I wasn't effected, but I noticed it.

Sometimes you get a whiff of sewage in between the room complexes, its unpleasant but unless you are planning on pulling up a chair and spending all day laying on the walk ways between some buildings its not a huge deal.

honestly that is all I can think of! I think that your personal attitude has a huge impact on the way your trip goes. Go with an open mind, your traveling! Things may not go as expected but I guarantee you will enjoy this resort!

Room Tip: Get ground level floor and ask at check in for a king bed!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kgrand10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Customer Service: A1. I could tell they truly valued their customers by the first moment I was checking in, and a waitress approached me with a refreshing glass of Jamaican Rum Punch. Throughout my stay from the life guards, to the bartenders and waitress--their staff was not only impeccable but friendly and attentive.

Accomodations: B. Don't get it miconstrued, the accomodation overall was an A-, however they do need to update the decor in the rooms. As well as the keys for the rooms. They still utilize metal keys for the doors. The rooms were spacious and decently furnished, however because of the out dated curtains, and bedding-- I left like I stepped into the 1980s. The dining services were excellent, as well as the cabana and pool area. The visitation rules SUCKED BALLS. They only allow you to have vistors in the lobby for a duration of an hour! wtf? If you want a guest to utilize the pool and dining services, you'll have to purchase a visitor's pass for $90!

Overall: I enjoyed my stay. The staff is what really enhanced the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Riu Montego Bay is an old hotel - still use keys (metal) for the door, old Zenith 20" TV and bathtubs fit for anybody under 5'6"
Beach is nice but short.
FOOD is Disgusting!! Only a notch above Cuba. Lunch menu was the same everyday - hamburgers, hot-dogs, pasta, pizza, jerk chicken and a salad bar. Ran out of tomatoes the last 3 days!!
The 3 specialty restaurants were one worst than the other. Asian place - had the worst sushi ever. Italian place - pasta with a red sauce, meat sauce and white sauce, Their risotto was a clump of rice however the accompanying shrimp and mussels were OK. Steak house - Tough pieces of meat!!
The only thing that saved this resort from being a 1 is their customer service especially their front desk manager Natoya who made this vacation
The bar service was good and the pools were clean. Activities were fairly well done.
However, not worth the price of the vacation overall. Other choices I was told were better for the same price.
If going to Jamaica, Riu Montego Bay should be your last option!!

Room Tip: Do not get booked in building 1 or 2. Worst areas in the resort
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I arrived on December 15 and left Dec 22 2013. Since this was my first resort other than disney I dont have much to compare it too. The breakfast and lunch buffet were my favourite but the dinner buffet didnt have anything special. Out of the three restaurants the asian and Italian were best. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Adrian :)
It was quite irritating to have the people from excursions and the spa bothering you every day but that's their job. Overall a very nice experience and I would return

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Shrimplover86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews