We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and I will never stay there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I had a terrible night in a smoking room. I told them I am allergic to smoke, they wanted to charge me extra $30 for similar none smoking room…..Go figure!!!

They will try to find a way to charge you extra money when you arrive there by any means possible

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 380 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

I had no reason whatsoever to request anything everything was just fine

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I'm a real whiner, so will give the negatives first:

One was expected to tip for the "free" breakfast buffet. Having gone to breakfast without money in hand, I left off a small amount at the front desk later. It was very apparent that the formerly-friendly front desk staff thought I was a real cheapskate. I couldn't help but wonder if it would have been better just to leave nothing at all. Since there were a lot of people eating the buffet, even a small amount from each person would have been a decent addition to the salary of the person who set it up. It was the first time I have ever encountered a 'free' hotel breakfast buffet where tips were asked for, and to be treated coldly for taking the trouble to go back later with at least something, was irritating. It seems like the hotel should just tell you up front that they'll expect that of you, or just pay their breakfast person a fair salary in the first place. The clerk also seemed irritated that many guests don't take their wallets with them to the onsite already-included-in-the-price breakfast.

At check-in, same the desk clerk asked me to help pass the word, that if you buy a room on Priceline, to be sure to notice that the non-smoking rooms are higher in price [slightly] and that one could not be guaranteed a non-smoking room with their bid. It made sense that she would be extra sure to point this out; the hotel seemed to attract lots of smokers; it was difficult to be outside the room or building without encountering a smoker -- around the pool, in the hot tub, in the BBQ area. For the Bay Area it seemed an oddly high concentration -- but then Benicia seemed to have a higher-than-average percentage of smokers. Perhaps that was just noticeable because so many restaurants have outdoor tables.

Overall, though, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly; Sunday breakfast was an incredible array of eggs, biscuits, gravy, breads, cereal, fresh-made waffles, fruit ... on and on. Room was spacious, good-sized microwave and refrigerator, table, nice decor.

Pool was clean, just not heated enough to swim in. Hot tub was tepid and full of children who kept crashing into me in the afternoon, with a smoker washing his ashes away with hot tub water. However, the hotel staff was very kind to make sure the tub was quite warm -- if not TOO warm -- later in the evening, and it was then excellent.

Lobby was beautiful, with a piano one could play. Also there was a pretty outside sitting area with a BBQ and nice views [which seemed also to be a smoking area so we never used it.]

But I'd stay here again; it was a good value for the price and certainly pleasant accommodations. We had to make a call for help with the air conditioning, but the very kind maintenance man removed the huge label that said "Use the wall thermostat to change temperature" and said the thermostats didn't seem to work for anybody and to go back to the old style manual method [which worked once you ripped the label off the top of the manual controls.] Then the A/C worked fine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We're not BW fans; prefer Marriott's, Hyatt, Hilton, but the price and location were right, so we booked BW. Booking and check-in slow, slow, slow. Did get a king on the top , and although we faced the freeway the room was mostly very quiet. It would appear the hotel has been recently remodeled, as the furnishings were upscale (like I would expect at a Marriott's/Hilton). Room very spacious and very clean - huge plusses! Housekeeping used 3 sheets to bag the duvee, very upscale touch. Continental breakfast was good and saved us time/$$ going out. Breakfast room very crowded though. Shop prices - as BW advertised vs. internet prices vary greatly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonocleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed here for 2nights as a cheaper, quieter option when visiting the wine region. Staff very friendly, service fast. Had a cable issue w/ the TV and they replaced the set immediately. All amenities excellent. Easy access to main highway.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldsMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stay here 5 nites, room was clean, pool was small, breakfast was okay, better than some places, worse than others, (first 2 days nice, fully stocked, next 3 they were no bagels, no yoguart, no muffins, even MOLDY fruit). Staff was pleasant. Air condition was okay at best, room always seemed warm, we would leave the a/c on, curtains closed and return with them open and a/c off, we then spent the rest of the evening trying to get the room cool. not the business center was down the entire time, and the elevator was also down the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooksandBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Large and comfortable room. Nice amenities for the price. Microwave, fridge, terry robes, wonderful jacuzzi tub. Even though our room had a coffeemaker, we were located right by the lobby so i had access to the already made coffee and tea, day or night. Breakfast and and evening snack are complimentary. Nothing special. The breakfast is convenient
if you are in a rush in the morning, otherwise you would be better off going to a restaurant. While we didn't try any of the local places, we drove approximately 15 minutes to Vallejo where there were many dining choices. There is a large tree out in back by the pool with plenty of seating where you can relax with a book but it's a
little noisy because its right next to the freeway. We were never bothered by traffic noise while inside the room though. Nobody was using the pool or spa during our stay because of the cold weather but from the look of the pool more than a couple of families with kids and the place would be too crowded. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melchickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benicia
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
7 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
21.6 mi away
HYATT house San Ramon
HYATT house San Ramon
#1 of 8 in San Ramon
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western John Muir Inn
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
11.3 mi away
Best Western Cordelia Inn
Best Western Cordelia Inn
#2 of 17 in Fairfield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Heritage Inn

Address: 1955 E 2nd St, Benicia, CA 94510-2201 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Heritage Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Benicia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Price Range: $111 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Heritage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Benicia
Benicia Best Western
Best Western Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing