We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”
Review of First Street Cafe

First Street Cafe
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Benicia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Thanks for looking at our listing. We are open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and in-between times. Looking for somewhere to have a leisurely lunch, we can help you. Need to get back to work quickly, we will accommodate you too. Coming to Benicia to see the sights? Come by for a meal during your visit. We have a great beer & wine list, menus that have a little something for everyone with food that is flavorful (not bland) and prepared fresh. Our servers will demonstrate that they care about creating a great experience for you, during your visit. We have an upstairs room that features live music on Friday, Saturday night & Sunday afternoon (Jazz). Have a group to feed? We are also a full service caterer providing food, beverage and service for groups from 4 to 350 or more. Our upstairs room is large enough for 50 for a catered event and intimate enough for 10. Call or email Mark (the owner) today for more information or to just ask a question. We have won many awards including the best dessert in Solano County & Best restaurant in Solano County.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've eaten at First Street several times over the past four years. It's always very good. Anyone new to town should give it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrk17, Owner at First Street Cafe, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear William,
Thank you for writing about our cafe. We are honored to have you as a regular guest. I hope you are a part of our birthday program where on the month of your birthday, we'll send you a postcard good for up to $20 off one entree. If not, please consider signing up on your next visit.
Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to have the privilege of serving you again soon.
Best Wishes,
Mark Krull
Owner, First St. Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    72
    28
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a family brunch the day after a family members wedding. We had reserved the upstairs dining room.

The stairs going up are a bit narrow and steep for the older folks in the group so be careful.

Food was excellent and the portion sizes were generous. The bread pudding with berries was delicious as was the French toast breakfast special with eggs.

Staff was super friendly. Will definitely eat here again when back in this area.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrk17, Owner at First Street Cafe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Jeff,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about our restaurant. We work to create special occasions that people will remember. I'm so pleased to hear that we were able to do that for you and your group. We look forward to the honor of serving you and your guests again the next time you are in the area.
Best Wishes,
Mark Krull
Owner, First St. Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best in Benicia”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

2 visits so far and the food was very good. The Meat Loaf was a repeat order by my Dad, and he loved it. I ordered the Scallop special with Risoto and he was superb.....with that was a regular item on the menu. My Mom really enjoyed the Pasta with Bolognese sauce.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrk17, Owner at First Street Cafe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our cafe. We're so glad to hear you enjoy what we do. We hope to get the privilege of serving you again soon.
Best Wishes,
Mark Krull
Owner
First St. Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Their bread is delicious if you are looking for a hearty loaf but they have NO gluten free options. We ate there a few time while I was in the area. Some days the service was great and others not so good. The corned beef hash was disappointing, shredded with a bunch of green peppers, which was not in the description on the menu. I wouldn't have ordered it at all if it would have said there were peppers. They make a peanut butter pie that is delicious.and they make a respectable cup of coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzzanna101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrk17, Owner at First Street Cafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Suzzanna101,
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. We're glad for the things you enjoy and we're sorry for the parts of your experience that we need to make better. It's great for us to get this feedback that we want & need to hear. It really does help us to improve and for that I can't thank you enough. We will review the recipe versus the description on the menu of the hash and get that more aligned. We have added a gluten free option for bread. It's not ACME bread as they don't make any products that qualify, but we do have it. I will make sure all the servers are more aware of this option. That way if you give us another try, we'll have it for you.
Best Wishes,
Mark Krull
Owner, First St. Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch in Benicia”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This café doesn't look like much but visit and you will be delighted with the food. The small spinach salad was almost more than I could eat. The other person eating had eggs and bacon. easy to fix but rarely delicious bacon done perfect and a warm berry scone made it perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 52inches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrk17, Owner at First Street Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello 52inches,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our cafe. We are glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to get the privilege of serving you and your guests again soon.
Best Wishes,
Mark Krull
Owner, First St. Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to First Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing